Skip to content

Explore Your Future!

We offer what you need to achieve success. Come explore and find out why so many students have decided to call one of the colleges in the Alamo Colleges District the pathway to their future.

Not sure where to start? Our Career Assessment Tool can help.

1819 N. Main St.
San Antonio TX, 78212

Each academic department has a chairperson who oversees a number of programs.

The list below details the current Chairpersons for each department.

Click on the links below to view information about each chairperson. To find contact information, click here.


· Interim Chair of Allied Health and Kinesiology 
 Cheryl Startzell

· Chair of American Sign Language, World Languages,
  and English-as-a-Second Language
  Lauri Metcalf

· Chair of Business, Finance, Marketing, Economics,
  Human Resources Management, Real Estate, and Paralegal Studies
Dr. Val Calvert 

· Chair of Computer Information Systems,
  Radio/Television/Broadcasting, and Music Business
  Troy Touchette

· Chair of Criminal Justice, Human Services,
  Court Reporting, Public Administration and Political Science  
  Oscar Ruiz (Interim)

· Chair of English, Journalism, Humanities, Photography,
  Integrated Reading & Writing Education 
  Mike Burton

· Chair of Fine Arts
Jeff Hunt  

· Chair of Mathematics, Physics,
  Engineering and Architecture
Dr. Said Fariabi

· Chair of Natural Sciences
Dr. Teanna Staggs

· Chair of Protective Services,
  Law Enforcement and Mortuary Science
Martin Davila

· Chair of Psychology, Philosophy,
  Learning Frameworks and Student Development
Dr. Tom Billimek

· Chair of Social Work, Sociology,
  Early Childhood Studies and History
Dr. Ellen Marshall