Skip to content

Explore Your Future!

We offer what you need to achieve success. Come explore and find out why so many students have decided to call one of the colleges in the Alamo Colleges District the pathway to their future.

Not sure where to start? Our Career Assessment Tool can help.

 
Close
Hours
1819 N. Main St.
San Antonio TX, 78212
210-486-0559
Vertical_Bar
Close

Dr. Blackwood With over 14 years of academic experience, Dr. Jothany Blackwood brings a comprehensive instructional and administrative background to her position as Vice President for Academic Success.

Before coming to SAC in February of 2015, Dr. Blackwood served in a variety of positions and colleges and universities around the country. Most recently, Dr. Blackwood served as the Dean of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts at Fresno City College in Fresno, CA. She also served as the Liaison for Districtwide Strategic and Integrated Planning at State Center Community College District. She has also served as the Academic Dean at San Joaquin Valley College in Visalia, CA and as Coordinator and Professor of Composition and Rhetoric at Fresno Pacific State University. In addition, she was also the Director of the Writing Center and an English Instructor at Fisk University in Nashville, TN.

Dr. Blackwood earned both her bachelor's and a master's degrees while attending Tennessee State University. She earned an Ed.D. from California State University in Fresno, CA.

Dr. Blackwood continues to share her expertise in strategic and integrated planning with the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) and other local and national organizations. As well, in her spare time, she volunteers for Girl Scouts and as a Merit Badge Counselor for Boy Scouts.

Dr. Blackwood's Vita  


 

Resources

Faculty Handbook 2017-2018 (PDF)  

Adjunct Faculty Handbook 2017-2018 (PDF)

 

Staff

Rose Rose Marie Gonzales
210-486-0950
rgonzales3@alamo.edu
   

 

 

Deans

Krueger

Arts & Sciences

Dr. Conrad Krueger
(210) 486-0915
ckrueger@alamo.edu
website
Walker

Professional & Technical Education

Vernell Walker

(210)486-0920
vwalker@alamo.edu  
website

 

Chairs

Hunt2 Jeffrey Hunt
(210) 486-0487
jhunt1@alamo.edu

Art
Speech
Dance
Drama
Music
fariabi Dr. Said Fariabi
(210) 486-0289
sfariabi@alamo.edu

Mathematics
Engineering
Architecture
Physics
touchette Troy Touchette
(210) 486-1072
ttouchette@alamo.edu

Computer Information Systems
ITSA Academy
Radio, Television, & Broadcasting
Music Business
Metcalf Laura Metcalf
(210) 486-1113
lmetcalf@alamo.edu

American Sign Language
Interpreter Training
English as a Second Language
World Languages
International Studies
Billimek Dr. Thomas Billimek
(210) 486-1266
tbillimek@alamo.edu

Psychology
Philosophy
Education
Student Development
Marshall Dr. Ellen Marhsall
(210) 486-0516
emarshall@alamo.edu

Social Work
Sociology
Early Childhood Studies
History
Cox Dr. Tiffany Cox
(210) 486-0835
tcox29@alamo.edu

Criminal Justice
Human Services
Court Reporting
Public Administration
Political Science
startzell Cheryl Startzell
(210) 486-1538
cstartzel@alamo.edu

Allied Health
Dental Assisting
Medical Assisting
Emergency Medical Services
Kinesiology
Burton Mike Burton
(210) 486-0660
gburton@alamo.edu
English
Journalism & Photography
Humanities
EDUC 1301 & 2301
Teacher Education
Mexican American Studies
INRW
Staggs Dr. Teanna Staggs
(210) 486-0856
tstaggs@alamo.edu
Biological Studies
Chemistry
Anthropology
Medicine
Nutrition
Earth Sciences
Astronomy
 
Val Calvert Dr. Val Calvert
(210) 486-0190
vcalvert@alamo.edu

Business
Finance
Marketing
Economics
Human Resources Management
Real Estate
Paralegal Studies

Davila Martin Davila
(210) 486-0082
mdavila29@alamo.edu
Protective Services
Law Enforcement Academy
Mortuary Science
 

    

Directors

Cirlos

Nursing Education

Stella Cirlos
(210) 486-1852
scirlos1@alamo.edu
website
 
Knotts

Creative
Multimedia Services

Dr. Barbara Knotts
(210) 486-0593
bknotts@alamo.edu
website
 
wilson

Learning Resources

Jonathan Wilson
(210) 486-1086
jwilson315@alamo.edu
website
 
   

 

Contact Info

Jothany Blackwood, Ed.D.
Fletcher Administration Center, Suite 305
210-486-0950
jblackwood3@alamo.edu


Administrative Staff:

Rose Marie Gonzales
Administrative Assistant to Vice President for Academic Success
210-486-0953
rgonzales3@alamo.edu

Sophie Caldera-Castaneda, M.A.
Coordinator of Student Success
210-486-0168
scaldera-castane@alamo.edu
Academic Integrity banner
Academic Grievance Form