Jack Stone Award for New Music

Date: March 26, 2019

Time: 7:30pm

Location: Palmetto Theatre

Jack Stone with Line Upon Line Percussion

The Jack Stone Award for New Music is a national competition open solely to community college students exploring music composition. Original student compositions will be performed by Line Upon Line Percussion.

Congratulations to the three composer awardees for their winning scores featuring percussion instrumentation:

Jack Stone Award for New Music:
“Downright Up and Left” by Melissa Wang (College of DuPage)

First Runner Up:
“The Square” by Connor Weir (Clark College)

Second Runner Up:
“ClockWork” by Mikael Baisch (Edmonds Community College)

line upon line percussion - lineuponlinepercussion.org
Formed in 2009, line upon line is considered “a riveting, always-surprising and delightful trio” by the Austin American-Statesman. The Austin-based trio has premiered over 40 new works for percussion trio by composers such as Aaron Cassidy, Laurent Durupt, Andrew Greenwald, Jessie Marino and Claudia Molitor and has worked with composers at Stanford University, the University of Huddersfield, City University of London and Monash University (Melbourne, Australia).

In Texas, the group has taught at UT Austin (Spring 2018), performed at the 2013 and 2017 Fusebox Festivals, Menil Collection (Houston), Victoria Bach Festival, International Festival-Institute at Round Top and is currently a member of the Texas Commission on the Arts Touring Roster. 

Nationally, line upon line has performed and taught in twenty-one different states, at two Percussive Arts Society International Conventions and at the 2017 Festival of New American Music (Sacramento).  

Internationally, the group has performed at the 2018 Bendigo International Festival of Exploratory Music (Australia), the Conservatoriums in Melbourne and Sydney, in London (Guildhall School of Music & Drama), Manchester (Royal Northern College of Music), Basel (Hochschule für Musik), Cologne (Loft Köln) and Berlin (Unerhörte Musik).

line upon line consists of its three original members, Adam Bedell, Cullen Faulk and Matthew Teodori.