Computing Sciences and Technology

Program Type: Face-to-Face, Fully Online
Program Level: Degrees, Online, Certificates
Department: Professional and Technical
Institute: Science & Technology
College: PAC

Computer Sciences and Technology is an industry with continued local and national job growth. Businesses have a need for people with the computer skills to perform daily routine tasks in their offices. Salaries for qualified computer personnel range from $29,000 to $80,000 per year.

Students interested in working with computer hardware or software should consider pursuing a degree in Computer Information Systems or Computer Science. Students interested in networks, computers, communication, and technology in general should consider pursuing a degree in Network Administration. 

Computer Science is a THECB-approved Field of Study, which means all coursework completed on the degree plan will fully transfer to satisfy the first two years of a Computer Science degree at any four-year public college or university in Texas.

Program Highlights

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) certification* is considered
an industry standard. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: “Employment is projected to grow much faster than the average for all occupations. Computer networks are an integral part of business, and demand for these workers will increase as rms continue to invest in new technologies. Excellent job prospects are expected.”

*Palo Alto College does not offer the CCNA Certification Exam. These are courses of instruction that help in Certification Exam preparation and count as college credit. The CCNA Certification Exam is offered by Cisco and its af liates. Currently, the CCNA Exam is given at Pearson VUE testing centers. 

Career Areas & Employment Positions

  • Network Technician & Admin
  • Network Engineer & Designer
  • Computer Programmer & Data Analyst
  • Computer Hardware or Software Engineer
  • Information Security Analyst
  • Computer Support Specialist 

 

 

Contact

Information

Joseph Coppola
Department Chair
jcoppola2@alamo.edu

Joe Corrales
Professor
jcorrales@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 225

Steven Hicks
Professor
shicks@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 217

 

Neven Jurkovic
Professor
njurkovic@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 205

Phone:
210-486-3316 

Lee Ross
Professor
lross6@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 219

Phone:
210-486-3321

 
 
Part-Time Adjunct Faculty
Andrea Cardenas
acardenas1@alamo.edu
William Dean
wdean4@alamo.edu
Oscar Flores
oflores@alamo.edu
Jason Hemingway
jhemingway@alamo.edu
Joseph Karako
jkarako@alamo.edu
Armond Kuehn
akuehn2@alamo.edu
Brian McDaniel
bmcdaniel@alamo.edu
Donna Ostaszwski
dostaszewski@alamo.edu
Ariesus Preston
apreston7@alamo.edu
Charles Ritley
critley@alamo.edu
Dimitrios Sellountos
dsellountos@alamo.edu
Judy Trevino
jtrevino46@alamo.edu
Priscilla Truesdell
ptruesdell@alamo.edu
Ernest Vasquez
evasquez26@alamo.edu
Steven Venezie
svenezie@alamo.edu
Dennis Whitley
dwhitley7@alamo.edu