Vice President for Academic Success

With over 14 years of academic experience, Dr. Jothany Blackwood brings a comprehensive instructional and administrative background to her position as Vice President for Academic Success.

Before coming to SAC in February of 2015, Dr. Blackwood served in a variety of positions and colleges and universities around the country. Most recently, Dr. Blackwood served as the Dean of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts at Fresno City College in Fresno, CA. She also served as the Liaison for Districtwide Strategic and Integrated Planning at State Center Community College District. She has also served as the Academic Dean at San Joaquin Valley College in Visalia, CA and as Coordinator and Professor of Composition and Rhetoric at Fresno Pacific State University. In addition, she was also the Director of the Writing Center and an English Instructor at Fisk University in Nashville, TN.

Dr. Blackwood earned both her bachelor's and a master's degrees while attending Tennessee State University. She earned an Ed.D. from California State University in Fresno, CA.

Dr. Blackwood continues to share her expertise in strategic and integrated planning with the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) and other local and national organizations. As well, in her spare time, she volunteers for Girl Scouts and as a Merit Badge Counselor for Boy Scouts.

Dr. Blackwood's Vita

Staff


 
Rose Marie Gonzales
210-486-0950
rgonzales3@alamo.edu
   

 

 

Deans

Dean of Academic Success

Dr. Conrad Krueger
(210) 486-0915
ckrueger@alamo.edu
website 

Dean of Academic Success

Vernell Walker
(210)486-0920
vwalker@alamo.edu  
website
 

 

 

Chairs


 
 
Jeffrey Hunt
(210) 486-0487
jhunt1@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

Art
Speech
Dance
Drama
Music 
Dr. Said Fariabi
(210) 486-0289
sfariabi@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

Mathematics
Engineering
Architecture
Physics
 

 
Troy Touchette
(210) 486-1072
ttouchette@alamo.edu

Computer Information Systems
ITSA Academy
Radio, Television, & Broadcasting
Music Business
 

 
Laura Metcalf
(210) 486-1113
lmetcalf@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

American Sign Language
Interpreter Training
English as a Second Language
World Languages
International Studies 

 
 
Dr. Thomas Billimek
(210) 486-1266
tbillimek@alamo.edu

Psychology
Philosophy
Education
Student Development
 

 
Dr. Ellen Marhsall
(210) 486-0516
emarshall@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

Social Work
Sociology
Early Childhood Studies
History
 
Oscar Ruiz
(210) 486-0196
oruiz14@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

Criminal Justice
Human Services
Court Reporting
Public Administration
Political Science
 

 
Cheryl Startzell
(210) 486-1538
cstartzel@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

Allied Health
Dental Assisting
Medical Assisting
Emergency Medical Services
Kinesiology
 

 
 
Mike Burton
(210) 486-0660
gburton@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita
English
Journalism & Photography
Humanities
EDUC 1301 & 2301
Teacher Education
Mexican American Studies
INRW
 

 
 
Dr. Teanna Staggs
(210) 486-0856
tstaggs@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita
Biological Studies
Chemistry
Anthropology
Medicine
Nutrition
Earth Sciences
Astronomy
 

 
 
Dr. Val Calvert
(210) 486-0190
vcalvert@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita

Business
Finance
Marketing
Economics
Human Resources Management
Real Estate
Paralegal Studies
 

 

 
 
Martin Davila
(210) 486-0082
mdavila29@alamo.edu
Curriculam Vita
Protective Services
Law Enforcement Academy
Mortuary Science
 

    

Directors


 
 

Nursing Education

Stella Cirlos
(210) 486-1852
scirlos1@alamo.edu

 


 
 

Creative
Multimedia Services

Dr. Barbara Knotts
(210) 486-0593
bknotts@alamo.edu


 
 

Learning Resources

Jonathan Wilson
(210) 486-1086
jwilson315@alamo.edu