Art

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Fine Arts
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: SAC

What is the Visual Arts program?

The Visual Arts program includes the study of Art History, Drawing, Design, Painting, Sculpture, Digital Art, Ceramics, Printmaking, and Photography (wet lab and digital). Visual Art education is a means for the development of aesthetic sensibility and visual literacy, and allows access for visual learners to higher education.

What will I learn?

Students gain experience and develop confidence in engaging individual creative processes, making judgments that require critical thinking skills, and understanding these means of individual empowerment as a life-long developmental process. The broad range of technique and skill explorations in our classes include classical to contemporary.

What can I do with this course of study?

Visual Arts majors transfer to Universities and Schools of Art throughout Texas and the U.S. to pursue a Baccalaureate degree. The Visual Arts program offers a 60-hour Associate in Arts and transfer credit of ARTS courses. Courses are in accord with the Texas Association of Schools of Art.

What's special about our program?

The Visual Arts program at SAC was started in 1955. The Visual Arts Center opened in 1991 and houses a large gallery exhibition space, art lecture hall, and studios for 2D and 3D art classes. The gallery exhibits local, national, and international professional artists and student work. Online galleries are an archive of previous exhibits since 1996. Visiting lecturer events expose students to nationally and internationally recognized artists, art critics, and art historians.

Students gain experience and develop confidence in engaging individual creative processes...
Degrees and Certificates

Contact Us

   

Mary Mena
Interim Chair
mmena@alamo.edu

Location:
McFA 105A
Phone:
210-486-1136

Visual Arts Coordinator
Eduardo Rodriguez
erodriguez2@alamo.edu
Office: VAC 222J
Phone: 210-486-1040

 

Location: 
Visual Arts Center (VAC-222)
Department of Fine Arts
(MCFA-105)
Phone:
Main Office -
Department of Fine Arts
(210) 486-0255

Administrative Assistant

Lesia Anderson

landerson7@alamo.edu

Location: 

MCFA – 105

Phone:

(210) 486-0256

Alfonso Cantu

Faculty

VAC – 222E

(210) 486-0489

acantu20@alamo.edu

 

Rebecca Dietz

Faculty

VAC – 222G

(210) 486-1046

rdietz4@alamo.edu

Lawrence Jennings

Faculty

VAC – 222F

(210) 486-1044

ljennings2@alamo.edu

Eduardo Rodriguez

Faculty

VAC – 222J

(210) 486-1040

erodriguez2@alamo.edu

 

Debra Schafter

Faculty

VAC – 222L

(210) 486-1042

dschafter@alamo.edu

Stacy Berlfein

Adjunct-Faculty

sberlfein@alamo.edu

Roberta Buckles

Adjunct-Faculty

rbuckles@alamo.edu

Michael Coyle

Adjunct-Faculty

mcoyle1@alamo.edu

Alfonso Espronceda

Adjunct-Faculty

aespronceda@alamo.edu

Angela Fox

Adjunct-Faculty

afox11@alamo.edu

Emily Fleisher

Adjunct-Faculty

efleisher@alamo.edu

Carlos Loera

Adjunct-Faculty

cloera@alamo.edu

Norbert Martinez

Adjunct-Faculty

nmartinez20@alamo.edu

Donald Morris

Adjunct-Faculty

dmorris28@alamo.edu

Ty Wilcox

Adjunct-Faculty

twilcox2@alamo.edu

Erika Reyes

Visual Arts Lab Technician

VAC – 116A

(210) 486-1039

ereyes104@alamo.edu

 

Mark Crutsinger

Visual Arts Staff

KCH – 100

lcrutsinger@alamo.edu