Speech Communication

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Fine Arts
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: SAC

What is the Speech Communication program?

The Speech Communication Program combines applied, practical knowledge with the art and theory of communication. The need to communicate effectively is important in every personal and professional relationship. Speech is also a core requirement for almost every degree program.

What will I learn?

Communication is what makes us human. When someone majors in Speech Communication, they can demonstrate the ability to communicate effectively, both face to face and computer mediated. Communication skills are vital to successful human interaction. Course topics include leadership skills, group dynamics, effective interviewing techniques, interpersonal relations, public speaking, using your voice effectively, oral interpretation, and conflict resolution. 

What can I do with this course of study?

A major in Speech Communication allows for flexibility in looking for employment. A person with this focus has limitless career possibilities. Communication skills are valued in personnel training, advertising, hotel management, political consulting, law, teaching, higher education administration, speech-writing, business, public relations, technical communication, and radio/television/online broadcasting.

Last updated 5/18/2021

What's special about our program?

Students in the communication program engage in real-world application through various class group projects, participation in communication workshops, and SpeakOUT, a semester event featuring student speakers. The department sponsors a nationally ranked competitive Speech Team. SAC students compete with other college and university students in public speaking and oral interpretation events. Scholarships are available for communication majors every semester.

Communication skills are vital to successful human interaction. 
Degrees and Certificates
Speech Faculty

Speech Faculty

Ashley L. Click

Speech Coordinator

McFA 209

210-486-0481

Aclick3@alamo.edu

Justin M. Blacklock

Speech Team Director

McFA 211

210-486-0479

jblacklock@alamo.edu

Jeffrey A. Hunt

Speech Faculty

McFA 221

210-486-0487

Jhunt1@alamo.edu

Jolinda L. Ramsey

Speech Faculty

McFA 209

210-486-0496

jramsey@alamo.edu

Speech Adjunct Faculty

Tony L. Anderson

tanderson@alamo.edu

Richard A. O’Neal

roneal3@alamo.edu

Laura Y. Haygood

lhaygood2@alamo.edu

Jessica D. Torres

jdeleon23@alamo.edu 

Staff

Academic Unit Assistant:

 

 

 

Lesia Anderson   

210-486-0256

landerson7@alamo.edu

MCFA 105

Kaysia Williams   

210-486-0258

kwilliams296@alamo.edu 

 MCFA 105

 

Contact Us:

Mary Mena
Interim Chair
mmena@alamo.edu

Location:
McFA 105A
Phone:
210-486-0494
Resources Available to All Students:

Zoom Room:

https://alamo.zoom.us/j/96204747346

Call Center – LiveChat
210-212-5266