Court Reporting

Program Level: Degrees, Certificates
Department: Public Policy & Service
Institute: Public Service
College: SAC

What is the Court Reporting program?

The Court Reporting program is part of the Administration Computer Technology (ACT) department which provides students the opportunity to acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to function in a position as a court reporter.

UPDATE 1/5/2021:  All courses will be delivered synchronously, the same as a standard course only on Zoom at the scheduled class times through the Spring.

 

 

What will I learn?

A court reporter makes a verbatim record of legal proceedings in a courtroom or deposition setting and provides a certified transcript for use by the legal profession. Conferences also may be reported and transcribed. Texas State law requires that shorthand reporters be certified to work in the courts or as freelance reporters.

What can I do with this course of study?

Official court reporters are employees of the court system. There is a fixed salary and benefits. In addition, these reporters earn a per-page fee for transcripts produced.

Freelance reporters work for court reporting firms as independent contractors. These reporters make up about 70 percent of employment in the court reporting field. Most work is in the deposition area (testimony of witnesses taken under oath outside the courtroom setting). However, these reporters also cover meetings, conferences, and conventions.

Persons not certified may work in business, civil service, or medical transcription using machine shorthand skills. Those with excellent machine shorthand skills may caption for television or write realtime for the hearing impaired.

What's special about program?

The ACT Department offers 3 Level I Certificates, 1 Enhanced Skills Certificate, and an Associate of Applied Science Degree, A.A.S.

The San Antonio College Court Reporting Program offers a "conflict-free," computer-compatible theory. This program provides the proficiencies needed to pass the certification examination administered by the Court Reporter Certification Board of Texas and the Registered Professional Reporter examination administered by the National Court Reporters Association.

The San Antonio College Court Reporting Program offers a "conflict-free," computer-compatible theory. 

Court Reporting Department Info and More

https://alamo.elumenapp.com/elumen/portfolio/Yr9OKmOsxVQbUoGv 

Dr. Tom Cox, Interim Chairperson
tcox@alamo.edu

Julie Razuri, Program Coordinator
jrazuri@alamo.edu

Location: 
NTC 114C

NTC 109D

Phone: 
210-486-1106

 

Faculty:

Frances Ervin
fervin@alamo.edu

 

Rick Hopkins
rhopkins@alamo.edu

 

Pat Woodard
pwoodard@alamo.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Barbara Dean
bdean@alamo.edu

 

Deborah Dickerson
ddickerson11@alamo.edu

 

Judy Isenhower
jisenhower@alamo.edu

Sachiko Nagao-Mojica
snagao-mojica@alamo.edu

Cecilia Neathery
ccurney@alamo.edu

Lisa Ward
lward40@alamo.edu

Resources Available to All Students:

Zoom Room: https://alamo.zoom.us/j/96204747346

Call Center – LiveChat
210-212-5266

Last Updated: 2/5/2021