Staff

Director

gerlado-guerra-asc-director-web.jpg

Geraldo Guerra, M.A.
MLC 707H
(210) 486 - 0164
gguerra@alamo.edu

Guerra is the first director of the newly created Academic Success Centers, which are responsible for the management of all SAC tutoring labs. The ASC consists of tutoring centers across campus, as well as a number of student programs, including SACMEN, a leadership and mentorship group for male students of color.

As the head of the Academic Success Centers, Guerra’s responsibilities include:

  • Support and management of all tutoring centers throughout the SAC campus.
  • Hiring, training, and certification of SAC tutors.
  • Management of student progress in tutoring.
  • Providing equitable academic support for all students in need of tutoring services at SAC, including those needing additional resources and support.

Before being promoted to director of ASC, Guerra was the coordinator for the Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC), SAC’s largest tutoring center.

Guerra received an associate degree in management from San Antonio College. He earned a bachelor’s degree in human relations at Texas A&M University-San Antonio, and a master’s degree in higher education and leadership from Adams State University in Alamosa, Colorado.

 

Administrative Services Specialist

Bertha Ovalle, B.A.A.S.
MLC 707L
(210) 486 - 0167
bovalle3@alamo.edu

 

Center Leads

Matthew Gomez
Early Alert / SACMEN
MLC 707G
(210) 486 - 0166
mgomez419@alamo.edu

 

Gerald F Manahan Jr. , M.S.I.T.
Student Learning Assistance Center
MLC 707K
(210) 486 - 0169
gmanahan@alamo.edu

 

Fatima Masoud
INRW Center
GH 118
(210) 486 - 0655
fmasoud@alamo.edu

 

Steve Ochoa
Math Success Center
MCCH 121/124
(210) 486 - 0240
sochoa@alamo.edu

 

Mary Ramsey
STEM Academic Centers (MESA, BioSpot, ChemSpot, GeoSpot)
CAC 204
(210) 486-0598
mramsey26@alamo.edu

 

Christian Villarreal
Writing Center
MLC 200
(210) 486 - 1436
cvillarreal204@alamo.edu

 

Last Updated: September 27, 2022