Sociology

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Mexican American Studies, Early Childhood Studies, Sociology, Social Work & History (MESSH)
Institute: Public Service
College: SAC

What is the Sociology program?

Sociology is the scientific study of social life. It is the exploration of social change and a lens into the complexity of the causes and consequences of human behavior.
(sources: American Sociological Association)

What will I learn?

Skills you can list on your resume:

Conduct Research and Analyze Data:  Learn both qualitative and quantitative research methods.  This will allow you to recognize trends and patterns and produce social statistics such as those used in market research, opinion polling, sales, and countless other applications

Communicate Skillfully:  Learn how to convey your ideas effectively in writing and presentations

Practice Critical Thinking: Learn to look beyond the surface of issues to discover the"why". Build your analytical skills. Solve problems and identify opportunities

Gain a Global Perspective: Learn about different cultures and how to analyze the interactions of groups and societies through a global and historical perspective

What can I do with this course of study?

With a degree, here are just a few career fields you can enter:

  • Social Services
  • Management & Marketing 
  • Human Resources 
  • Teachers, Librarians 
  • Social Science, Researchers 
  • Community and Advocacy Organizer
  • Government Agency Staff
  • Program and Policy Evaluator
  • Other professional fields with additional Graduate level education - Applied and Clinical Sociologists, Counselor, Demographer, Statistician, Law/Legal Professions
  • Transfer level courses for students who are pursuing an Associate of Arts Degree,
  • or who otherwise are planning to transfer to a four-year college or university to earn a Bachelor Degree.

 

Last updated 5/18/2021

 What's special about the program?

Multi-cultural learning opportunities such as courses with an "Internationalized Curriculum" and/or an emphasis on the "Mexican-American Experience" 

Curricula, including the selection of textbooks, that promote global awareness in all courses

Service-Learning opportunities in many courses and sections which encourage civic and community responsibility

Opportunities to engage in hands-on research that focuses on issues important to our campus and community.

Socialization into Sociology as a discipline and a profession through the Sociology student club.

 

Program Updates:

 

Learn to look beyond the surface of issues to discover the "why".
Degrees and Certificates

Contact Us

   
Beatrix Perez
Program Coordinator
bperez87@alamo.edu
Location:
CAC 136F
Phone:
(210) 486-1327

Julie Engel                            Interim MESSH Chairperson jengel@alamo.edu

Location:
CAC 303C
Phone:
(210) 486-1695

Cynthia C. Munoz                Assistant           cmunoz44@alamo.edu

Location:                                CAC 136A

Phone:
(210) 486-1319

Beatrice Canales Academic Unit Assistant

bcanales1@alamo.edu

Location:                                ECSB 206

Phone:
(210) 486-0526

Faculty

Email

Room

Title

Phone number

Omega
Arteaga-Gamboa

oarteaga@alamo.edu

CAC
136H

Adjunct Faculty

210-486-1319

Annette
Kampman

akampman@alamo.edu

CAC
136H

Adjunct Faculty

210-486-1319

Deborah
Matusko

dmatusko@alamo.edu

CAC
136H

Adjunct Faculty

210-486-1319

Curtisw
Ogland

cogland@alamo.edu

CAC
136B

Instructor

210-486-0433

Sonia
Oviedo

soviedo2@alamo.edu

CAC
136H

Adjunct Faculty

210-486-1319

Terri
Slonaker

tslonaker@alamo.edu

CAC
136E

Assistant Professor

210-486-1333

For Additional Assistance: Call the call center (210-212-5266),  access the LiveChat (In the bottom right-hand side on any SAC webpage), or visit this zoom room (https://alamo.zoom.us/j/96204747346).