SPC Faculty, Dean Appointed to THECB Committees

August 31, 2022

SPC Marketing & Strategic Communications

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Commissioner Harrison Keller recently announced committee appointments, which include several St. Philip’s College employees.

083122-THECB-Orzco-350x425.jpgEdith Orozco, Dean for Academic Success, Applied Science and Technology – MLK, was appointed to serve as a member of the Texas Transfer Advisory Committee (TTAC). Her term began on Sept. 1, 2022 and runs through August 2025 with the potential to be invited to serve consecutive terms.

The committee prioritizes improving transfer, particularly for students attending community colleges who plan to transfer to a public four-year university. The TTAC is charged with overseeing the development and implementation of the new transfer policy framework and recommending new pathways for students to complete their Texas Core Curriculum, Discipline Specific Courses and Directed Electives in an approved Texas Transfer Field of Student Curricula.


083122-THECB-Nfor-350x425.jpgDr. Solomon Nfor, Associate Professor, was selected to serve on the Texas Transfer Advisory Committee’s (TTAC) Discipline Specific Subcommittee on Biology to aid the development of the Texas Transfer Field of Study Curriculum (FOSG) for Biology.

Dr. Nfor serves a three-year term that began on Aug. 26, 2022. The charge of the subcommittee is to use a data-informed approach to support transfer students from community colleges, and specifically to maximize the transfer and applicability of courses to a major when students transfer to a university.




083122-THECB-Richardson-350x425.jpgMargaret Richardson, a Criminal Justice and Government instructor at St. Philip’s College, was appointed as a member of the Lower-Division Academic Course Guide Manual (ACGM) Advisory Committee. The three-year term began on Sept. 1, 2022.







The Coordinating Board established the advisory committee to improve student transfer statewide by managing lower-division courses intended for transfer. The committee makes recommendations on additions and deletions of courses from the ACGM, as well as reviews and revises descriptions, student learning outcomes, and course parameters for existing courses.