Computer Sciences and Technology

Program Type: Face-to-Face, Fully Online
Program Level: Degrees, Online, Certificates
Department: Professional and Technical
Institute: Science & Technology
College: PAC

What is the computer science and technology program?

Computer Science and Technology is an in-demand industry with continued local and national job growth. Salaries for qualified computer personnel range from $35,000 to $80,000 per year.

Students interested in working with computer hardware or software should consider pursuing a degree in Computer Support. Students interested in connecting or repairing computer networks should consider the Networking and Computer Information System program.

Students interested in desktop, mobile, or web programming should consider the Software Applications Development program.

Cybersecurity jobs are among the fastest-growing careers nationally, with the rise in cyberattacks on networks across the nation. Students interested in protecting their organization or country from cyberattacks should consider the Cyber Defense and Operations program.

Students interested in transferring coursework in Computer Programming to a 4-year institution for a Computer Science degree should select the Associate of Science degree and as part of the 18-additional hours of the 60-hour degree should take any of the following: COSC 1336, COSC 1436, COSC 1337, COSC 1437, COSC 2336, COSC 2436, and COSC 2325. In addition, we offer Python, Java, and C++ desktop programming courses.

Computer Science and Technology Program Highlights

  • Transferrable courses
  • Courses offered online or face-to-face
  • Internship opportunities
  • Hands-on experience
  • Faculty with decades experience in the industry
  • The only program in Texas with two specialized courses in ethical hacking and penetration testing

 

Computer Science and Technology Career Areas & Employment Positions

  • Digital or Cyber Forensic Analysts
  • Cybersecurity specialists
  • Penetration Testers
  • Network Administrators
  • Computer Network Specialists
  • Desktop Programmer
  • Mobile Programmer
  • Web Programmer
  • Software Applications Developer
  • Computer Technician
  • Computer Support Specialist
  • IT Specialist

 

 

Contact

Information

Joseph Coppola
Department Chair
jcoppola2@alamo.edu

Phone:
210-486-3208

Joe Corrales
Professor
jcorrales@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 225

Steven Hicks
Professor
shicks@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 217

 

Neven Jurkovic
Professor
njurkovic@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 205

Phone:
210-486-3316 

Lee Ross
Professor
lross6@alamo.edu

Location:
Sabine Hall 219

Phone:
210-486-3321

 
 
Part-Time Adjunct Faculty
Jason Hemingway
jhemingway@alamo.edu
William Dean
wdean4@alamo.edu
Oscar Flores
oflores@alamo.edu
Brian McDaniel
bmcdaniel@alamo.edu
Joseph Karako
jkarako@alamo.edu
Armond Kuehn
akuehn2@alamo.edu
Charles Ritley
critley@alamo.edu
Donna Ostaszwski
dostaszewski@alamo.edu
Ariesus Preston
apreston7@alamo.edu
Priscilla Truesdell
ptruesdell@alamo.edu
Dimitrios Sellountos
dsellountos@alamo.edu
Judy Trevino
jtrevino46@alamo.edu
Dennis Whitley
dwhitley7@alamo.edu
Ernest Vasquez
evasquez26@alamo.edu
Steven Venezie
svenezie@alamo.edu