Teatro Palo Alto

Fall 2018

El Muerto Vagabundo

By Georgina H. Escobar

In this bilingual performance, it is Day of the Dead in the City of Bridges when The Kid, a near homeless orphan looked after by his older sister, makes an ofrenda to summon his parents. What he encounters instead is a vagabundo; a tramp who mistakenly takes the kid’s offering for himself. As the kid chases after him, he ends up under a bridge, in a place called The Underworld where the forgotten, lost, and dispossessed (los olvidados) lay down for a night’s rest. Offering his innocent insight to each of his new, lonely friends, The Kid insists in building an altar, and lighting a candle to honor their dead. The Kid learns about stories, as they all reconnect, of those people or lives that hide under bridges—whether real or fake. In a highly theatrical and metaphorical way, we encounter traditions, through ritual, song, and good old-fashioned story-telling in this darkly-whimsical play.

Performances
Friday, Oct. 12 – 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 13 – 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 14 – 2 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 15 – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 18 – 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 19 – 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 20 – 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 21 – 2 p.m.

Performing Arts Center Black Box Theater (PERF 171)

Get tickets today!

 


 

Flor to Somewhere

By Christina Quintana

There’s a new superhero in town, and her name is Flor. Hailing from Mexico City, and equipped with one invisible rocket ship, Flor is faced with the challenge all great superheroes have to face at one time or another, how to find home. With the help of the friendly spirit of a Greek restaurant owner, Flor travels through time to discover what it takes to turn “nowhere" into somewhere.

Performances
Thursday, Nov. 8 – 10 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 9 – 10 a.m.
Monday, Nov. 12 – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 15 – 10 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 16 – 10 a.m.
Saturday, Nov. 17 – 6 p.m.

Performing Arts Center Auditorium

 


 

Spring 2019

The Rude Mechanicals from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

By William Shakespeare

This unique show pulls excerpts from William Shakespeare’s exhilarating tale of midsummer madness! A comedy filled with mistaken identity, mismatched lovers and mischief-making fairies, this performance will include a joyful celebration of love lost, transformed and restored.

Performances
Thursday, Feb. 28 – 10 a.m.
Friday, March 1 – 10 a.m.
Saturday, March 2 – 6 p.m.
Thursday, March 7 – 10 a.m.
Friday, March 8 – 10 a.m.
Saturday, March 9 – 6 p.m.

Performing Arts Center Auditorium

 


 

Spring Awakening

Book and Lyrics by Steven Sater
Music by Duncan Sheik

Spring Awakening explores the journey from adolescence to adulthood with a poignancy and passion that is illuminating and unforgettable. In 1981 Germany, in a private place in the woods, Melchior and Wendla meet by accident and soon find within themselves a desire unlike anything they've ever felt. Featuring a pop rock score, join the journey of teenage self-discovery and coming of age anxiety in a powerful celebration of youth and rebellion.

Performances
Thursday, May 2 – 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 4 – 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 5 – 2 p.m.
Wednesday, May 8 – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 9 – 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 11 – 2 p.m.
Sunday, May 12 – 2 p.m.

Performing Arts Center Auditorium

 

Palo Alto College Performing Arts Center Box Office
Child, senior, and student discounts are available. Tickets may be purchased online when available. For tickets and more information, please call the Box Office at 210-670-6670. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.