Teatro Palo Alto

Teatro Palo Alto is the producing arm of the Palo Alto College drama program. There are four shows per season, with two shows during the fall semester and two in the spring. The department operates out of two theatre spaces: a 400-seat auditorium and a 100-seat black box theatre.

Teatro Palo Alto strives to create high quality theatre experience for the bilingual, multicultural community in South San Antonio. Diversity, including gender, is also a cornerstone to our vision, with at least half of the productions each season being written by women. It is crucial for the health of the community to see itself represented in popular culture and the arts. Teatro Palo Alto seeks to bridge the representation chasm that exists in the arts.

 

Fall 2020

The Fall 2020 season will include three live-virtual productions, which will be free and open to the public to view on Facebook Live and YouTube Live.

 

Slices of Life

By Verónica Musalem
Translated and Directed by Hector Garza

Slices of Life features 9 vignettes, 15 characters all played by 3 actresses. "In The Kitchen," the unifying vignette, explores the dynamics between two cooking hosts as they bake their way through their differences to disastrous results. Surrounded by 8 other scenes, Slices of Life explores what it is to be a woman.

Performances
Thursday, Aug. 20 – 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 21 – 7 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 22 – 7 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 27 – 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 28 – 7 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 29 – 7 p.m.

Watch on Facebook        Watch on YouTube 


 

she wears bells

By jo reyes-boitel
Directed by Amber Ortega

she wears bells follows the story of the Aztec Coyolxauhqui, who has lost her battle on Earth and is exiled to the moon. Is she dead or can she transform in order to claim a new legacy? 

Performances
Thursday, Oct. 22 – 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 23 – 7 p.m
Saturday, Oct. 24 – 7 p.m
Wednesday, Oct. 28 - 7 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 29 – 7 p.m
Friday, Oct. 30 – 7 p.m

Watch on Facebook        Watch on YouTube 


 

Tomás and the Library Lady

Adapted by José Cruz González, from the Book by Pat Mora 
Directed by April January-Cox

Tomás, the son of migrant farm workers, meets a librarian who introduces him to the wonderful world of books. The stories enrich the lives of Tomás’ family and instill a love of reading. This is the inspiring true story of Tomás Rivera, who grew up in a migrant worker family, befriended a librarian in Iowa, and learned to love books and the places they took him. Tomás went on to a successful career in academia and became the chancellor of the University of California, Riverside. Adapted from the well-loved book, this play can be readily understood by both English and Spanish speakers.

Performances
Thursday, Nov. 19 – 10 a.m. – Watch on YouTube
Thursday, Nov. 19 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Friday, Nov. 20 – 10 a.m. – Watch on YouTube
Friday, Nov. 20 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, Nov. 21 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube


Spring 2021

God of Carnage

By Yasmina Reza
Directed by Nicolás E. Castañon

A playground altercation between eleven-year-old boys brings together two sets of parents for a meeting to resolve the matter. At first, diplomatic niceties are observed, but as the meeting progresses, and the rum flows, tensions emerge and the gloves come off, leaving the couples with more than just their liberal principles in tatters.

Performances
Thursday, March 25 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Friday, March 26 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, March 27 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Thursday, April 1 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Friday, April 2 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, April 3 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube

 


 

Topdog/Underdog

By Susan-Lori Parks
Directed by Hector Garza

A darkly comic fable of brotherly love and family identity, Topdog/Underdog tells the story of Lincoln and Booth, two brothers whose names, given to them as a joke, foretell a lifetime of sibling rivalry and resentment. Haunted by their past, the brothers are forced to confront the shattering reality of their future.

Performances 
Thursday, April 22 – 7 p.m
Friday, April 23 – 7 p.m
Saturday, April 24 – 7 p.m
Sunday, April 25 – 2 p.m
Thursday, April 29 – 7 p.m
Friday, April 30 – 7 p.m
Saturday, May 1 – 7 p.m
Sunday, May 2 – 2 p.m

 


 

Past seasons

Teatro Palo Alto launched its inaugural season of stage performances in 2016. 

View archives

 

Box Office 

Child, senior, and student discounts are available. Tickets may be purchased online when available. For tickets and more information, please call the Box Office at 210-670-6670. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.