Teatro Palo Alto

Teatro Palo Alto is the producing arm of the Palo Alto College drama program. There are four shows per season, with two shows during the fall semester and two in the spring. The department operates out of two theatre spaces: a 400-seat auditorium and a 100-seat black box theatre.

Teatro Palo Alto strives to create high quality theatre experience for the bilingual, multicultural community in South San Antonio. Diversity, including gender, is also a cornerstone to our vision, with at least half of the productions each season being written by women. It is crucial for the health of the community to see itself represented in popular culture and the arts. Teatro Palo Alto seeks to bridge the representation chasm that exists in the arts.

 

Fall 2020

The Fall 2020 season will include three live-virtual productions, which will be free and open to the public to view on Facebook Live and YouTube Live.

 

Slices of Life

By Verónica Musalem
Translated and Directed by Hector Garza

Slices of Life features 9 vignettes, 15 characters all played by 3 actresses. "In The Kitchen," the unifying vignette, explores the dynamics between two cooking hosts as they bake their way through their differences to disastrous results. Surrounded by 8 other scenes, Slices of Life explores what it is to be a woman.

Performances
Thursday, Aug. 20 – 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 21 – 7 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 22 – 7 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 27 – 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 28 – 7 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 29 – 7 p.m.

Watch on Facebook        Watch on YouTube 


 

she wears bells

By jo reyes-boitel
Directed by Amber Ortega

she wears bells follows the story of the Aztec Coyolxauhqui, who has lost her battle on Earth and is exiled to the moon. Is she dead or can she transform in order to claim a new legacy? 

Performances
Thursday, Oct. 22 – 7 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 23 – 7 p.m
Saturday, Oct. 24 – 7 p.m
Wednesday, Oct. 28 - 7 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 29 – 7 p.m
Friday, Oct. 30 – 7 p.m

Watch on Facebook        Watch on YouTube 


 

Tomás and the Library Lady

Adapted by José Cruz González, from the Book by Pat Mora 
Directed by April January-Cox

Tomás, the son of migrant farm workers, meets a librarian who introduces him to the wonderful world of books. The stories enrich the lives of Tomás’ family and instill a love of reading. This is the inspiring true story of Tomás Rivera, who grew up in a migrant worker family, befriended a librarian in Iowa, and learned to love books and the places they took him. Tomás went on to a successful career in academia and became the chancellor of the University of California, Riverside. Adapted from the well-loved book, this play can be readily understood by both English and Spanish speakers.

Performances
Thursday, Nov. 19 – 10 a.m. – Watch on YouTube
Thursday, Nov. 19 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Friday, Nov. 20 – 10 a.m. – Watch on YouTube
Friday, Nov. 20 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, Nov. 21 – 7 p.m – Watch on YouTube


Spring 2021

PAC-Teatro-200x300-Muerte.jpgMuerte

By Erica Acevedo-Ontiveros and Hector Garza

Losing his life to cancer, Hugo leaves behind the women most important in his life - his wife, mother, sisters, and daughter.  At the funeral, these women each speak to the memories of their beloved family man while managing their own feelings, along with the other egos in the room.

Performances 
Wednesday, April 28 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Thursday, April 29 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Friday, April 30 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, May 1 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Sunday, May 2 – 2 p.m – Watch on YouTube

 


 

LoveWRECKED - Love and Everything That Can Go Wrong

A voice student showcase illustrating all the ways love makes us giddy and crazy. Collaboration between Teatro Palo Alto and Musica Palo Alto.

Performances 
Sunday, May 9 – 7–7:45 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Monday, May 10 – 7–7:45 p.m. – Watch on YouTube

 

 

 

 


 

PAC-Teatro-200x300-GodofCarnage.png

God of Carnage

By Yasmina Reza
Directed by Nicolás E. Castañon

Translated by Christopher Hamtpon

A playground altercation between eleven-year-old boys brings together two sets of parents for a meeting to resolve the matter. At first, diplomatic niceties are observed, but as the meeting progresses, and the rum flows, tensions emerge and the gloves come off, leaving the couples with more than just their liberal principles in tatters.

Performances
Thursday, May 13 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Friday, May 14 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, May 15 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Thursday, May 20 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Friday, May 21– 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube
Saturday, May 22 – 7 p.m. – Watch on YouTube

 


 

Past seasons

Teatro Palo Alto launched its inaugural season of stage performances in 2016. 

View archives

 

Box Office 

Child, senior, and student discounts are available. Tickets may be purchased online when available. For tickets and more information, please call the Box Office at 210-670-6670. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.