The Tutoring and Technology (TNT) Center

The Tutoring and Technology (TNT) Center provides online support services for students and faculty engaged in a variety of distance learning formats to ensure opportunities for student success. TNT offers FREE online professional tutoring through Brainfuse to St. Philip's College students in numerous areas for help with some of their toughest courses and subjects!

TnT-Brainfuse-320x250.jpg

Remote Tutoring

Brainfuse online tutoring (FREE 24/7 online tutoring through your Canvas course. A great resource when you're not on campus! Each student initially receives 420 free minutes. For additional minutes contact Liz Castillo at ecastillo262@alamo.edu. For more information on how to use Brainfuse visit our website.)

Access TNT tutors via Brainfuse!

Brainfuse Tutor Match Steps

Free Online Services 

  • Tutoring in Accounting, Business, Computer Literacy, History, Spanish, and Speech
  • TEAS Preparation classes (For healthcare-related Alamo Institutes) Contact Michelle, Lindy, and/or Verle Ann for Zoom session hours.
  • Seminars on Success (SOS) (Mini-workshops that empower students with better study and organizational skills) More information coming soon!
  • Support for students with disabilities (Online one-on-one tutoring help)

Book Loan Program

The St. Philip's College Tutoring and Technology (TNT) Center Book Loan Program is now being offered year-round and is available via online reservations!

Learn more

Videos

  • SOS - Stress and Time Management

    Thanks for watching the video! Click Here to take our survey!

    Reading a Textbook

    The Reading Process

    The Writing Process

    Scholarship Essay Tips

     
  • Get Tech Ready

    Get Ready for Remote Learning

    Becoming and Effective Note Taker

    Canvas Tips

    Canvas Calendar Tips

    College and Community Resources

    Five Day Plan for Test Prep

    Objective Test Tips

    Note Taking Tips

Our Tutors (Located on Brainfuse under Tutor Match)

Accounting

Accounting

Kenneth W Bankston
kbankston@alamo.edu

Sarah N Khabazi
skhabazi@alamo.edu

Aurora M Lee
alee@alamo.edu

Business

Business

Alex Olivarez
aolivarez65@alamo.edu

College Reading

College Reading

Mariza Medellin
mmedellin18@alamo.edu

Evaliza Fuentes 
efuentes60@alamo.edu

History, Government, College Writing, Speech

History, Government, College Writing, Speech

Evaliza Fuentes 
efuentes60@alamo.edu

Math

Math

Patrick Wilson
pwilson@alamo.edu

Microsoft Office

Microsoft Office

Teresa Soliz
tsoliz1@alamo.edu

Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Michelle Dart
polvera5@alamo.edu

Spanish

Spanish

Aurora M Lee
alee@alamo.edu

Alex Olivarez
aolivarez65@alamo.edu

TEAS All Subjects

TEAS All Subjects

Lindy Ader
rader@alamo.edu

TEAS Reading and Language Arts

TEAS Reading and Language Arts

Michelle Dart
polvera5@alamo.edu

Verle Ann Proctor
vproctor@alamo.edu

TEAS English

TEAS English

Verle Ann Proctor
vproctor@alamo.edu

TSI

TSI

Verle Ann Proctor
vproctor@alamo.edu

Writing

Writing

Mariza Medellin
mmedellin18@alamo.edu

Email one of our tutors to set up an online tutoring session. Please note that when using Brainfuse Tutor Match with our TNT tutors you are not using any of your Brainfuse hours. 

For assistance please call 210-486-2527. Additional resources for distance learners can be found at alamo.edu/spc/distance-learning.

Hours of Operation

Online

  • Monday–Thursday: 8:00am–7:00pm

In Person

  • Monday and Thursday: 8:00am–5:00pm

Face to Face tutoring sessions available by appointment for the following subjects: Accounting, Computer Literacy, Reading and Writing. Email spc-tutoring@alamo.edu to schedule an appointment.