Student Engagement Grants

Student Engagement Grant (SEG)

St. Philip's College is looking for excellent students who want challenging and rewarding extracurricular experiences while pursing their college course work. The Student Engagement (SEG) Scholarship provides the opportunity to get involved with a special initiative, meeting other students, and developing a network of professional contacts. Financial support is provided to each student. Identify the extracurricular experience you are looking for and contact the SEG Project Director.

Apply Today

SEG Projects 2018-2019

Aircraft, Construction, and Manufacturing Community Service

Project Manager: Gilbert Noriega
Phone: 210-486-7096
Email: gnoriega6@alamo.edu

Focus: Community Service & Recruitment

Description: Work with SAHA and Green Spaces Alliance. Recruit at middle schools.

Apply Now

Alamo Institute Student Leaders

Project Manager: Dr. Angela McPherson Williams
Phone: 210-486-2135
Email: awilliams284@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Leadership

Description: The Student Leaders gain valuable knowledge and experience by working with the Alamo Institute leads to contact students, plan events, and forward information to the students.

Apply Now

Biology Research Project

Project Manager: Stacie Koonhow
Phone: 210-486-2553
Email: sharris22@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Academic Development

Description: Students will collaborate with graduate students at UTSA to gain tips and research skills that assist with academic success. 

Apply Now

Byrd Sanctuary Peer Tutors

Project Manager: Keith Haye
Phone: 210-486-2550
Email: khaye@alamo.edu

Focus: Tutoring

Description: Students are tutors in the natural sciences.

Apply Now

Campus Tour Leaders

Project Manager: Beautrice Butler
Phone: 210-486-2026
Email: bbutler@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Engagement

Description: Promote SPC, plan, conduct, and evaluate activities.

Apply Now

COE Math Student Outreach

Project Manager: Maria Rodriguez
Phone: 210-486-7123
Email: mrodriguez108@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Academic Development

Description: Promote STEM education in the local community and increase the graduation rate of STEM majors (including future STEM teachers).

Apply Now

Collegiate 100

Project Manager: John Martin
Phone: 210-486-2241
Email: jmartin139@alamo.edu

Focus: Peer Mentoring

Description: Project aligns student success with the minority male initiatives at SPC.

Apply Now

Community Garden

Project Manager: Kathy White
Phone: 210-486-2755
Email: kwhite@alamo.edu

Focus: Civic Engagement

Description: Manage community garden, aquaponics, hydroponics

Apply Now

Disability Services

Project Manager: Maria Botello
Phone: 210-486-2199
Email: mbotello@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Outreach & Support

Description: Disability Services is a hub of activities, support, referrals, and encouragement for our St. Philip's College students with disabilities.

Apply Now

Extramurals Sports Program

Project Manager: Dr. Angela McPherson Williams
Phone: 210-486-2135
Email: awilliams284@alamo.edu

Focus: Sports Activites

Description: Recipients manage budget, recruit, do paperwork and lead health and wellness.

Apply Now

Honors Scholars Ceremony

Project Manager: Susan Medina
Phone: 210-486-2174
Email: smedina100@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Engagement

Description: Honors Scholars will survey honorees to identify a student speaker and assist in a variety of other administrative activities towards that end.

Apply Now

Jessica's Project

Project Manager: Dr. Solomon Nfor
Phone: 210-486-2754
Email: snfor@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Leadership

Description: Create, organieze, execute and evaluate a science-related symposia.

Apply Now

Peer Mentor Tutoring Reading

Project Manager: Monique Johnson-Dixon
Phone: 210-486-2224
Email: mjohnson8@alamo.edu

Focus: Tutoring

Description: Assist with Developmental English and Reading students.

Apply Now

Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP)/SPC Ethical Decision-Making (EDM)

Project Manager: Irene Young
Phone: 210-486-2391
Email: iyoung@alamo.edu

Focus: Research for SPC Ethics Center

Description: Research and conceptualize an Ethics Center for SPC.

Apply Now

Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP)/Spirit Day

Project Manager: Dr. Angela McPherson Williams
Phone: 210-486-2135
Email: awilliams284@alamo.edu

Focus: Support Ethical Decision-Making

Description: Managers will lead the effort for enhancing opportunities for student activities.

Apply Now

Science in Action

Project Manager: Dr. Jo Dee Duncan
Phone: 210-486-7121
Email: jduncan36@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Academic Development

Description: The Science In Action program is a citizen science initiative based on best practices for retaining and training science and technology students.

Apply Now

SPC Cyber Tigers

Project Manager: Reynaldo Sanchez, Jr.
Phone: 210-486-2104
Email: rsanchez710@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Engagement 

Description: The SPC Cyber Tigers works within SPC & community to advocate the importance of cybersecurity.  

Apply Now

Spirit & Pride Crew

Project Manager: Dr. Angela McPherson Williams
Phone: 210-486-2135
Email: awilliams284@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Engagement

Description: The Spirit and Pride Crew will plan, develop and implement campus activities and programs.

Apply Now

STEM Advocates

Project Manager: Jessica Lopez
Phone: 210-486-2530
Email: jlopez@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Engagement

Description: Students will work with multiple faculty and staff members to create and implement an awareness and recruitment plan for the NSF grant.

Apply Now

Student Government Association (SGA)

Project Manager: Dr. Angela McPherson Williams
Phone: 210-486-2135
Email: awilliams284@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Government

Description: Represent students with administration and improve communication

Apply Now

Tiger PAWS (Personal Academic Writing Space)

Project Manager: Jamie Miranda
Phone: 210-486-2722
Email: jmiranda58@alamo.edu

Focus: Literary art Journal

Description: Provide leadership for all aspects of the literary journal, Tiger PAWS (Personal Academic Writing Space).

Apply Now

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)

Project Manager: Edith Orozco
Phone: 210-486-2451
Email: eorozco4@alamo.edu

Focus: Student Academic Development

Description: Assisting in the preparation of income tax returns for clients and to assist VITA site director to abide IRS requirements/standards.

Apply Now