Chemistry

Program Level: Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Natural Sciences
Institute: Science & Technology
College: SAC

What is the Chemistry program?

Chemistry is at the forefront of all human activities ranging from cooking to nursing to rocket science. A basic understanding of chemistry is required for all health and biosciences fields as well as science-related professions in STEM fields and technical careers in the industry. Our program not only addresses these areas but also prepares those students wishing to pursue careers in academia.

What will I learn?

The composition, structure, and properties of matter and the changes it undergoes. Students can experience direct contact with substances that compose our world—elements, compounds, and mixtures—examining and analyzing them both manually and instrumentally. Most of our courses are embedded with hands-on labs which reinforce learning through application.

What can I do with this course of study?

Students may choose to pursue careers as nurses, doctors, dentists, pharmacists, veterinarians, photographers, firefighters, chemists, biologists, geologists, engineers, and physicists.

 

Last updated 5/19/2021

What's special about this program?

Core classes transfer to most four-year universities. The ChemSpot is a tutoring and learning center staffed by faculty and student tutors providing on-demand help with math and chemistry topics.

...experience direct contact with substances that compose our world
Degrees and Certificates

Natural Sciences Department Administration

The Natural Sciences Department consists of three administrative positions: 

·       The Dean of Academic Success / Arts and Sciences manages multiple departments including Natural Sciences.

·       The Department Chair manages the department and collaborates with the college to ensure that the department is functioning to meet the college’s needs. 

·       The Program Coordinator assists the Department Chair with managing the program based on the standards and regulations of the accrediting body.

The Natural Sciences department administrators are:

Conrad Krueger, Ed.D. Teanna Staggs, Ph.D. David Wood, Ph.D.
Dean of Academic Success/Arts & Sciences Department Chair / Natural Sciences Department Department Coordinator/Natural Sciences Department

1819 N. Main Ave, San Antonio, TX 78212

CAC 345 / CG 207 CG 204
ckrueger@alamo.edu tstaggs@alamo.edu dwood30@alamo.edu
  (210) 486-0840 (210) 486-0063

 

Staff Contact Information

Deborah (Debbie) Dye
(210) 486-0045
Administrative Assistant
CG 207
ddye5@alamo.edu
Felipe Villanueva
(210) 486-0048
Chemistry Lab Technician
CG 213
fvillanueva19@alamo.edu

 

Faculty Contact Information

Full-Time Faculty
Jennifer Caraway
CG 103
(210) 486-0049
jcaraway@alamo.edu

Saumil Christian
CG 103
(210) 486-0841
schristian12@alamo.edu

Jeremy Motley
CG 107
(210) 486-0057
jmotley3@alamo.edu
Jianxia Zhang
CG 117
(210) 486-0826
jzhang19@alamo.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Hadi Arman
CG 209
harman@alamo.edu

Andrew Fielding
CG 209
afielding2@alamo.edu
Freddie Polk
CG 209
fpolk2@alamo.edu
Gerardo Ramirez
CG 209
gramirez84@alamo.edu

 

Questions?


Assistance is available through the call center (210-212-5266), the LiveChat in the bottom right corner, and the zoom room available at https://alamo.zoom.us/j/96204747346.

Contact Us

Dr. Teanna Staggs
Natural Sciences Chair
tstaggs@alamo.edu

Location:  Chance Academic Center 345
Phone: 210-486-0840

Dr. David Wood
Chemistry/Earth Sciences/Astronomy/Geography Coordinator
dwood30@alamo.edu

Location: Chemistry Geology 204
Phone: 210-486-0063

Debbie Dye
Administrative Assistant
ddye5@alamo.edu

Location: Chemistry Geology 207
Phone:  210-486-0045