History

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Mexican American Studies, Early Childhood Studies, Sociology, Social Work & History (MESSH)
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: SAC

What is the History course of study?

A bachelor's degree in history provides students with a body of historical knowledge that enables them to understand local, national, and global events as well as to appreciate the range of cultural diversity that makes up the world community.

What will I learn?

  • Construct historical arguments using primary and secondary sources.
  • Describe historical narratives of multiple choices and regions across space and time.
  • Analyze these historical narratives from diverse perspectives.
  • Explain how spatial processes have shaped these historical narratives of people and regions.

What can I do with this course of study?

The bachelor's degree plan assists those who seek a career in social studies education. Additional career paths include higher education, research, publishing, information management, business, public service, law, and other positions requiring effective writing, interdisciplinary thinking, critical skill analysis skills, curiosity, and inquisitiveness.

 

Read the SAC History Program's statement affirming that Black Lives Matter and Black History is American History here.

What's special about our program?

The history course of study is special because of our students and our faculty. Students entering the history course of study are mentored by history faculties interested in having students achieve success. The course of study seeks students with inquiring minds. The course of study seeks students from diverse backgrounds, with diverse interests, ready to accept today's challenges. Faculty are devoted to encouraging student academic excellence, to developing students' critical thinking, reading, and writing skills, and to the college mission to produce informed and responsible citizens. 

History faculty are interested in having students achieve success...

Last updated 9/27/2021

 

Contact Us

Dr. Sean Duffy
Program Co-Coordinator
sduffy4@alamo.edu
location:
Chance Academic Center 316
phone:
210-486-1712
Dr. Lisa Ramos
Program Co-Coordinator
lramos@alamo.edu
location: 
Chance Academic Center 100
phone:
210-486-0761
Julie Engel
Interim MESSH Chairperson
jengel2@alamo.edu
location: 
Chance Academic Center 303c
phone:
210-486-1695
Denise DeLaRosa
Academic Unit Assistant
ddelarosa62@alamo.edu
location: 
Chance Academic Center 303d
phone:
210-486-1695

Follow us on Twitter:

 Follow @HIstorySAC

 

 

e-mail to 

sduffy4@alamo.edu

Call center (210-212-5266), LiveChat (In the bottom right hand side on any SAC webpage) and zoom link available to assist students
Full-Time Faculty

Erik Anderson Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
eanderson44@alamo.edu
210-486-1104
CAC 310

Marianne Bueno, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
mbueno41@alamo.edu
210-486-1341
CAC 314

Thomas F. Clarkin, Ph.D.
Professor of History
tclarkin@alamo.edu
210-486-1714
CAC 303E

Sean Duffy, Ph.D.
Professor of History
sduffy4@alamo.edu
210-486-1712
CAC 316

Seabrook Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
sjones290@alamo.edu          
210-486-1716                           
CAC 303J

Suraya Khan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
skhan29@alamo.edu
(210) 486-1709
CAC 312

Jonathan A. Lee, Ph.D.
Professor of History
jlee@alamo.edu

Lisa Ramos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
lramos175@alamo.edu
210-486-0761
CAC 100

jecoa ross, M.A.
Instructor of History
jross100@alamo.edu
210-486-1101
CAC 303E

Amelia Serafine, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
aserafine2@alamo.edu
210-486-1711                            
CAC 312 

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Mark Benz, M.A.
mbenz3@alamo.edu
CAC 303A 

Samuel Byndom, Ph.D.
sbyndom@alamo.edu
CAC 307

John Carranza, M.A.  jcarranza15@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Joshua S. Copeland, M.A.
jcopeland18@alamo.edu
CAC 307

Scott Cowin, M.A.
scowin2@alamo.edu
CAC 307 

Andria Crosson, M.A.
acrosson@alamo.edu
CAC 303 

Nika Davis, M.A., D.Min.
ndavis82@alamo.edu
CAC 303A

James Ivy, Ph.D.
jivy@alamo.edu
CAC303A

Derek Kutzer, M.A.
dkutzer@alamo.edu
CAC 303J 

Deirdre Lannon, M.A.
dlannon@alamo.edu
CAC 303H 

Louis A. Magnon, M.A.T., M.E.D. 
jmagnon@alamo.edu
CTTC  

Frank Martinez, M.A.
fmartinez143@alamo.edu
CAC 303H 

 

Jennifer McIntyre, M.A.  jmcintyre10@alamo.edu
CAC 303E 

E. Carmen Morley, M.A.
emorley@alamo.edu
CAC 303H 

Italo Samano, M.A.
isamano@alamo.edu
CAC 303F

Karen Sebesta, M.A.
ksebesta@alamo.edu 
CAC 303 

Mary Thompson, M.A.
mthompson@alamo.edu
CAC 303H

Angela Nessler, M.A.
anessler@alamo.edu
CAC 303A