History

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Mexican American Studies, Early Childhood Studies, Sociology, Social Work & History (MESSH)
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: SAC

The SAC History program is hiring a new full-time Faculty instructor! Posting here.

 

What is the History course of study?

A bachelor's degree in history provides students with a body of historical knowledge that enables them to understand local, national, and global events as well as to appreciate the range of cultural diversity that makes up the world community.

 

What will I learn?

  • Construct historical arguments using primary and secondary sources.
  • Describe historical narratives of multiple choices and regions across space and time.
  • Analyze these historical narratives from diverse perspectives.
  • Explain how spatial processes have shaped these historical narratives of people and regions.

What can I do with this course of study?

The bachelor's degree plan assists those who seek a career in social studies education. Additional career paths include higher education, research, publishing, information management, business, public service, law, and other positions requiring effective writing, interdisciplinary thinking, critical skill analysis skills, curiosity, and inquisitiveness.

 

Read the SAC History Program's statement affirming that Black Lives Matter and Black History is American History here.

What's special about our program?

The SAC Historians are a community of highly trained educators and scholars who empower students to think deeply about the past. By engaging in the study of history, our students hone their critical thinking and communication skills. We support our students in becoming lifelong learners who recognize, reflect upon, and value personal and social responsibility. We mentor future historians and history educators, while preparing all students to graduate, transfer, or enter the workforce. Through active learning in the classroom and activities in our community, we empower our students to succeed in a diverse world marked by continuity and change.

 

We empower our students to succeed in a diverse world marked by continuity and change.

Last updated 11/08/2022

Contact Us

Dr. Amelia Serafine
Program Co-Coordinator
CAC 312
(210) 486-1711
aseradine2@alamo.edu

Dr. Marianne Bueno
Program Co-Coordinator
CAC 100
(210) 486-1341
mbueno41@alamo.edu

Dr. Seabrook Jones
Interim MESSH Chairperson
CAC 303
(210) 486-1716
sjones290@alamo.edu

Denise DeLaRosa
Academic Unit Assistant
CAC 303
(210) 486-1695
ddelarosa62@alamo.edu

 

 

Full-Time Faculty

Erik Anderson Ph.D.
Professor of History
CAC 310
(210) 486-1104
eanderson44@alamo.edu

Whitney Blankenship, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
CAC 307
wblankenship4@alamo.edu

Marianne Bueno, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
CAC 100
(210) 486-1341
mbueno41@alamo.edu

Jennifer Cain, M.A.
Instructor of History
CAC 303H
(210) 486-0262
jcain1@alamo.edu

Sean Duffy, Ph.D.
Professor of History
CAC 316
(210) 486-1712
sduffy4@alamo.edu

Seabrook Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
CAC 303J
(210) 486-1716
sjones290@alamo.edu

Suraya Khan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
CAC 314
(210) 486-1709
skhan29@alamo.edu

Jonathan A. Lee, Ph.D.
Professor of History
jlee@alamo.edu

Laura Lee Oviedo, M.A. (ABD)
Instructor of History
CAC 303F
(210) 486-1714
loviedo7@alamo.edu

Lisa Ramos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
CAC 100
(210) 486-0761
lramos175@alamo.edu

jecoa ross, M.A.
Instructor of History
CAC 303E
(210) 486-1101
jross100@alamo.edu

Amelia Serafine, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
CAC 312
(210) 486-1711
aserafine2@alamo.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Mark Benz, M.A.
mbenz3@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Samuel Byndom, Ph.D.
sbyndom@alamo.edu
CAC 303

John Carranza, M.A.
jcarranza15@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Joshua S. Copeland,M.A.
jcopeland18@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Andria Crosson, M.A.
acrosson@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Nika Davis, M.A., D.Min.
ndavis82@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Chad DeMars, M.A.
cdemars@alamo.edu
CAC 303

James Ivy, Ph.D.
jivy@alamo.edu
CAC303

Derek Kutzer, M.A.
dkutzer@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Deirdre Lannon, M.A.
dlannon@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Louis A. Magnon, M.A.T., M.E.D. 
jmagnon@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Frank Martinez, M.A.
fmartinez143@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Jennifer McIntyre, M.A.
jmcintyre10@alamo.edu
CAC 303A

Kevin Mitchell
lmitchell70@alamo.edu
CAC 303

E. Carmen Morley, M.A.
emorley@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Angela Nessler, M.A.
anessler@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Michael Saberian
msaberian@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Italo Samano, M.A.
isamano@alamo.edu
CAC 303

Karen Sebesta, M.A.
ksebesta@alamo.edu 
CAC 303

Mary Thompson, M.A.
mthompson@alamo.edu
CAC 303