SPC hosts its 150th Commencement Ceremony

June 11, 2024

SPC Marketing & Strategic Communications

052324 Graduation CG-07.jpg

The 150th commencement ceremony of St. Philip’s College took place on Thursday, May 23 at the Alamodome. The ceremony began with welcome remarks by Vice President for Student Success, Wesley Wells, the posting of colors, and the national anthem.

Before conferring the degrees and certificates, a Posthumous Honorary Degree was awarded to the late A. Baker Duncan. The degree was accepted by Mr. Drew Cauthorn, former Chancellor of the Diocese of West Texas. It was presented by Clint Kingsberry, Chair of the Alamo Colleges District Board of Trustees, Dr. Mike Flores, Chancellor of the Alamo Colleges District, and Dr. Adena Williams Loston, President of St. Philip’s College.

The ceremony had nearly 600 graduates adorned in traditional cap and gowns, cheered on by family members, friends, and faculty.

Andres Arredondo, Interim Dean for Student Success and Enrollment Management, said, "It was an incredible honor. Serving as a reader of the names was a profound privilege. Witnessing the joy and pride on the faces of our new graduates as they crossed the stage at the Alamodome was deeply moving.

Students played key roles as speakers at the commencement ceremony. Jabrasia Doss, the St. Philip’s College White House HBCU Scholar, and a graduation candidate, delivered the Invocation. Alyssa Vasquez-Garza, a Student Success Intern and fellow graduation candidate, introduced the Commencement Speaker, Joe Harris, a Navy veteran and graduation candidate. Janel Sohl, also a graduation candidate, delivered the Benediction.

052324 Graduation CG-08.jpg


052324 Graduation CG-06.jpg