Music

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Arts
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: SAC

What is the Music program?

A two-year curriculum culminating in an Associate of Arts in Music Degree, this degree plan, prescribed by the State of Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, is entirely suitable for transfer.

Degree Plan

Transfer Scholarship Information

What will I learn?

Students will acquire musical proficiency by participating in various ensembles and private lessons. Our ensembles offer the major and the non-major student scholarship opportunities and the experience of performing a wide variety of repertoire. Ensembles consist of Concert Choir, Wind Ensemble, String Ensemble, Brass Ensemble, Jazz Ensemble, Latin Jazz Combo, Early Music Ensemble, Chamber Singers, and Guitar Ensemble. Our private lessons are offered on all standard orchestral instruments, plus piano, organ, saxophone, guitar, and electric bass. Many large instruments are available for loan to students. 

What can I do with this course of study?

A major in Music allows for flexibility in looking for employment. This program is designed to lead to a Bachelor’s degree in the following areas: Performance, Music Education, Music Industry, Music Marketing, Music Therapy, Composition, Theory, and Musicology.

Additionally:

  • Artist representation
  • Arts administration, including the planning of local music festivals and concerts
  • Blogging about music
  • Broadcast engineering
  • College and conservatory administration
  • Event and wedding planning and management
  • Music arranging
  • Music journalism
  • Musical instrument repairs and sales
  • Operating smaller music schools
  • Orchestra management and orchestral librarian work
  • Radio and broadcast work
  • Recording technology and audio engineering
  • Theater and performing arts center management

Events Calendar

Check here for current listings for the concert series and the main space series.

New calendar under construction - please be patient while we update this!

Auditions

  • Friends of Music Scholarship for incoming students, auditions on a rolling basis via recorded submission, deadline May 12th, 2023. Submit the application form according to the instructions.
  • Mary Ann Winden District Scholarship, auditions on a rolling basis.

Submit questions to:
Kerri Morgan at kmorgan31@alamo.edu

What's special about our program?

The San Antonio College music program provides university quality. Teaching faculty perform with symphonies, opera companies, prestigious festivals, chamber music groups, and special area recitals and concerts. A good number of San Antonio College music instructors teach at other area colleges and universities as well, such as Trinity University, the University of Texas at San Antonio, the University of the Incarnate Word, and St Mary’s University. We also have excellent facilities, which include three piano labs, two Steinway concert grand pianos, practice rooms, percussion studios, four rehearsal spaces, and the 1,000 seat McAllister Fine Arts Auditorium.

This 60 hr program is designed to transfer in full to any four-year institution of your choice.

Degree Requirements, 60 semester hours

Music Theory I, II, III, and IV; Ear Training and Sight Singing I, II, III, IV; Music Literature, Applied Instruction in your voice or instrument for 4 semesters, Ensemble participation for 4 semesters. Piano Courses I, II, III, and IV are offered as well. Core classes are required.

Ensemble Participation

Our ensembles include the Heart of Texas Band, SAC Choir, Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Chamber Ensemble, Brass Ensemble, Guitar Ensemble, Chamber Choir, Jazz Combo, Percussion Ensemble, and our award-winning Mariachi Estrellas del Alamo. Students have the opportunity to perform at the Mariachi Vargas International Mariachi Competition, Texas State University Guitar Ensemble Competition, National Association of Teachers of Singing competition, and the TMEA Community College Honors Band, annually, as well as gaining performing experience in a variety of contexts on campus every semester.

Distinguished Faculty

SAC students have the advantage of studying directly with the most experienced and successful teachers in the area. Our faculty are degreed to the doctoral level, have many years of successful teaching experience, and are widely known regionally and nationally for their performing expertise. Students may be eligible for scholarships and for special recognition as they advance through the program at SAC.

Faculty

Daniel Anastasio
Piano
MCFA 102B
(210) 486-0477
danastasio@alamo.edu 

Andrew Gignac
Brass (trumpet)
MCFA 102D
(210) 486-0269
agignac@alamo.edu 

Cindy Sanchez
Voice
MCFA 201
(210) 486-0264
csanchez324@alamo.edu

Tom Sprayberry
Guitar
MCFA 129B
(210) 486-0241
tsprayberry@alamo.edu

Mark Alexander
Piano
MHA 106
malexander27@alamo.edu

Tim Birt
Voice
MHA 113
tbirt@alamo.edu

 

Joe Caploe
Percussion
MCFA 125
jcaploe@alamo.edu

David Deering
Brass (tuba, trombone)
MCFA 125
ddeering1@alamo.edu

Gary Fair
Clarinet
MHA 115
gfair2@alamo.edu

Steve Gollihar
Theory
MHA 111
(210) 486-0265
sgollihar@alamo.edu 

Beth Johnson
String (violin, viola)
MCFA 125
bjohnson115@alamo.edu

Thomas Kurtz
Saxophone
MHA 115
tkurtz4@alamo.edu

 

John Lopez
Mariachi
MHA 107
jlopez796@alamo.edu

Kerri Morgan
Voice
MHA 113
(210) 486-0265
kmorgan31@alamo.edu

Geraldine Ong
Piano
MHA 106
gong@alamo.edu

 

Georgie Padilla Santiago
Percussion
MCFA 125
jpadilla63@alamo.edu

Jean Park
Piano
MHA 106
jpark82@alamo.edu

Zlatan Redzic
String (bass)
MCFA 125
zredzic@alamo.edu

Aurelia Rocha
String (cello)
MCFA 125
(210) 486-0478
arocha17@alamo.edu 

Becky Walker
Voice
MHA 117
(210) 486-0269
bwalker2@alamo.edu

 

 

Contact Us

Kevin Conlon
Chair
MCFA 105A
(210) 486-0494
kconlon3@alamo.edu

Kerri Morgan
Program Coordinator
MCFA, 102H
(210) 486-0477
kmorgan31@alamo.edu

Mandy Derfler
Academic Unit Assistant
MCFA 105
(210) 486-0258
aderfler@alamo.edu