Texas Residency Established
Rules and Regulations for determining residence status are set by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. THECB residency information can be found at CollegeforTexans.com.
Under state statutes and Coordinating Board rules and regulations interpreting those statutes, a student or prospective student is classified as a resident of Texas if he/she:
- 36-month rule: Graduated from a public or accredited private high school school
or receiving a GED in this state and residing in Texas the 36 months immediately
preceding the date of graduation or receipt of a GED; and living in Texas 12
months preceding the census date of the academic semester in which the
student enrolls in an institution.
- Transferred from another Texas public institution of higher education after
continuous enrollment (enrolled in the previous fall and/or spring term) where
you were classified as a Texas resident.
- Established a domicile and maintaining residence in Texas 12 months prior
to the term of enrollment or by being a dependent of a Texas resident.
Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Tuesday: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Summer Hours: Mon-Thurs,
8 a.m.-7 p.m. June/July
P hone: 210-486-0640
Fletcher Administration Center
(FAC - 214)