Biology

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Natural Sciences
Institute: Science & Technology
College: SAC

What is the Biological Sciences course of study?

The department of Biological Sciences supports the mission of the college in meeting the educational goals of students who are enrolled in college parallel, pre-professional, or technical/allied health programs. It also supports those seeking to expand their science literacy, or enhance their personal and professional development.

What will I learn?

The curricula include the traditional scientific knowledge base along with findings on modern discoveries. By accentuating the relevance of science in response to critical societal issues, students are taught how to apply theoretical knowledge to advance solutions. Through structured classroom and laboratory activities, students are challenged to think of science as a process that can best be learned through inquiry and experimentation.

What can I do with this course of study?

The Biology Department is cognizant of the needs of transfer students. The department has created eight degree plans and is in the process of negotiating articulation agreements with four neighboring institutions. We have developed an advising/tracking system as a means of better serving our student population and facilitating an increased graduation rate.

What's special about this course of study?

The department recognizes that the interaction between faculty and students is one of the most significant ingredients for student success. Therefore, access to the faculty is provided through small classes, regular posted office hours, and pairing of students with faculty advisors.

Students are taught how to apply theoretical knowledge to advance solutions.

 

Last updated: 5/6/2021

Degrees and Certificates
Course Resources

Natural Sciences Department Administration

The Natural Sciences Department consists of three administrative positions.  

  • The Dean of Academic Success / Arts and Sciences manages multiple departments including Natural Sciences.
  • The Department Chair manages the department and collaborates with the college to ensure that the department is functioning to meet the college’s needs. 
  • The Program Coordinator assists the Department Chair with managing the program based on the standards and regulations of the accrediting body.

The Natural Sciences administrators for the department are:

Conrad Krueger, Ed.D. Teanna Staggs, Ph.D. Shelly Sheppard
Dean of Academic Success / Arts and Sciences Department Chair / Natural Sciences Department Program Coordinator / Natural Sciences Department
1819 N. Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212 Chance Academic Center (CAC) Room 345 Chance Academic Center (CAC) Room 345C
ckrueger@alamo.edu tstaggs@alamo.edu ssheppard@alamo.edu
  210-486-0840 210-486-0837

Staff Contact Information

Corina Canizales-Boester

Academic Unit Assistant

Chance Academic Center (CAC) 345 ccanizales@alamo.edu 210-486-0840

Susan Garza

Biology Lab Technician

Chance Academic Center (CAC) 352 sgarza261@alamo.edu 210-486-0859

Faculty Contact Information

Full-Time Faculty

***Please note that since the campus is currently shut down, faculty are not in their assigned offices and do not have access to their office phone numbers.***

Mercedes Alba CAC 363 210-486-0849 malba7@alamo.edu
Deanna Apple CAC 365 210-486-0844 dapple3@alamo.edu
Ryan Cabalu CAC 345E 210-486-0847 rcabalu@alamo.edu
Rachel Del Rio CAC 345D 210-486-0846 rdelrio6@alamo.edu
Diane Farrell CAC 345G 210-486-0857 dfarrell3@alamo.edu
Jonathan Grossheim CAC 365   jgrossheim2@alamo.edu
Karl Hagenbuch CAC 345E 210-486-0854 khagenbuch@alamo.edu
Jose Lopez-Yanez CAC 345G   jlopez-yanez2@alamo.edu
Robyn McGilloway CAC 361 210-486-0855 rmcgilloway@alamo.edu
Amanda Pepin CAC 361 210-486-2852 ahill69@alamo.edu
Luis Rodriguez CAC 359 210-486-0848 lrodriguez2@alamo.edu
Shelly Sheppard CAC 345C 210-486-0837 ssheppard@alamo.edu
Teanna Staggs CAC 345 210-486-0840 tstaggs@alamo.edu

Adjunct Faculty

***Please note that since the campus is currently shut down, adjunct faculty are not in their assigned offices.***

John Adams CAC 345G   jadams110@alamo.edu
Paul Deadrick CAC 345G   pdeadrick@alamo.edu
Muraya Gonzalez CAC 345G   mgonzalez1285@alamo.edu
Harley Hubbard CAC 345G   hpruitt@alamo.edu
Marilyn Ibey CAC 345G   mibey2@alamo.edu
Linda Mendoza CAC 345G   lmendoza1@alamo.edu
Laura Mery CAC 345G   lmery@alamo.edu
Carolyn Miller CAC 345G   cmiller235@alamo.edu
Ashley Netting CAC 345G   anetting@alamo.edu
Sophia Pina CAC 345G   sguardiola@alamo.edu
Ashley Rawls CAC 345G   arawls6@alamo.edu
Celeste Windham CAC 345G   cwindham8@alamo.edu
Xhavit Zogaj CAC 345G   xzogaj@alamo.edu

Questions?

Assistance is available through the call center (210-212-5266), the LiveChat in the bottom right corner, and the zoom room available at https://alamo.zoom.us/j/96204747346

Contact Us

Teanna Staggs, Ph.D.

Department Chair

Location:

Chance Academic Center (CAC) 345

210-486-0840 tstaggs@alamo.edu

Shelly Sheppard

Department Coordinator

Location:

Chance Academic Center (CAC) 345C

210-486-0837 ssheppard@alamo.edu

Corina Canizales-Boester

Academic Unit Assistant

Location:

Chance Academic Center (CAC) 345

210-486-0840 ccanizales@alamo.edu