SAC Nursing Department

 

San Antonio College (SAC) has been providing our community with a steady stream of nurses for over 50 years. Each semester, some 300-400 students are enrolled in SAC’s Nursing program. Due to the outstanding curriculum and dedicated faculty, the program has become highly competitive admitting fewer than 100 new students each semester. Students attending the San Antonio College nursing program come primarily from the Bexar County Metropolitan area. Graduates from the programs fill nursing positions within many acute and long‐term healthcare facilities in the area.

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Texas Board of Nursing, Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges has approved the RN to BSN Bridge Program at San Antonio College.

The faculty members of the Department of Nursing Education uphold the mission of San Antonio College in supporting the educational and lifelong learning needs of culturally, ethnically, and socially diverse communities. The mission of the Department of Nursing Education is to prepare professional nurses who, as members of an interdisciplinary healthcare team, use nursing judgment to provide safe, evidence-based, patient-centered care to promote quality patient outcomes.

The Department of Nursing Education offers the Associate of Science in Nursing (A.A.S.) and the BSN Bridge program. The A.A.S. program has two tracks, the Generic track, and the Career Mobility track for LVN/LNP and military medics. There is an extension campus located in Kerrville, Texas that offers both the LVN to RN and military medic career mobility track. Once the student completes the program, takes and passes the NCLEX licensing exam, and becomes a Registered Nurse, the student can then apply and transition into the BSN Bridge Program. The BSN Bridge Program offers Hybrid (in-person and online) and Online courses with various track. 

Program Highlights

All nursing programs offered at San Antonio College are participants of the Texas Concept-Based Curriculum which consists of educators across Texas that developed the curriculum. The program curriculum across all programs is concept based.

  • Multiple types of programs to support the community and increase the number of nurses in healthcare.
  • The curriculum aligned with DEC, QSEN ensures nurses are prepared to work in healthcare.
  • The department offers online, hybrid, and face-to-face instruction.
  • Nursing program cost is lower than other programs offered.

   A.A.S END OF PROGRAM STUDENT LEARNING OUTCOMES

  1. Use clinical reasoning and knowledge based on the nursing program of study, evidenced-based practice outcomes, and research-based policies and procedures as the basis for decision-making and comprehensive, safe patient care.
  2. Demonstrates skills in using patient care technologies and information systems that support safe nursing practice.
  3. Promotes safety and quality improvement as an advocate and manager of nursing care.
  4. Coordinate, collaborate and communicate with diverse patients, families and the interdisciplinary health care team to plan, deliver, and evaluate care.
  5. Adheres to standards of practice within legal, ethical, and regulatory frameworks of the professional nurse.
  6. Demonstrates knowledge of delegation, management, and leadership skills.
  7. Demonstrate behavior that reflects the values and ethics of the nursing profession.

  

   BSN BRIDGE END OF PROGRAM STUDENT LEARNING OUTCOMES

  1. Use clinical reasoning and knowledge based on the nursing program of study, evidenced- based practice outcomes, and research studies as the basis for decision-making and comprehensive, safe patient and population care.
  2. Demonstrates inquiry and analysis in applying patient care technologies and information systems to support safe nursing practice and population risk reduction.
  3. Leads safety and quality improvement activities as part of the interdisciplinary team and as an advocate and manager of nursing care.
  4. Manage care transitions and promote population risk reduction with diverse communities in collaboration with members of the interdisciplinary health care team.
  5. Participates in monitoring institutional, professional and public policy to maintain adherence to standards of practice within legal, ethical, and regulatory frameworks of the professional nurse.
  6. Demonstrate leadership skills related to financial, human resource, clinical and professional issues in providing and evaluating care.
  7. Demonstrate leadership and advocacy that reflects the values and ethics of the nursing profession.

Course Student Learning Outcomes
Student learning outcome are identified and can be found in each course e-Syllabus.

 

RN-BSN Cost Comparison

Compare College/University Costs

San Antonio College

$10,740

 

Austin Community College

$11,913

 

Baptist Health System School of Health Professions

$18,300

 

Galen

$23,700

 

Western Governors University

$17,142

 

Grand Canyon University

$20,400

Program Pathway for A.A.S. to BSN

nursingsteps.jpg

Prospective Students

Information Sessions

Attend a Nursing Education Information Session at San Antonio College at 2 p.m. in NAHC room 201:

In-person or via Zoom Nursing Education Information Session

March 4, May 13, June 3, July 1, Aug. 5, Sept. 9, Oct. 7, Nov. 4 and Dec. 16

Program Specific Information

Generic AAS Program

Career Mobility: LVN to RN and Military Medic to RN Program

Bachelor of Science Bridge Program

 

Summer 2024 Hours 

On-campus: For the months of June and July

Monday through Thursday 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

We will be closed for the following school holidays: May 27, June 19 and July 4.

 

Current Students

Hospital Orientation Exam

Monday - Thursday, 2:30pm - 3:30pm (NAHC338)*

*This exam time slot is provided for ONGOING students to take the Hospital Orientation and receive their card. New Student Hospital Orientation Exam will be administered during the Nursing Program Mandatory Orientation.

Download Study Guide: Hospital Orientation Core Materials for Students - June 2017 

Nursing ID Cards

Please report to the ID office in the Fletcher Administration building and specify that you are participating in the nursing program. You will need to be wearing your Nursing uniform top and you will be asked to provide proof of payment for classes. ID's will be processed and available at the ID office.

Nursing Student Handbook

Clinical Practice and Indemnification Agreement

Nursing Student Electronic Portfolio

Clinical Learning

Clinical Sites

San Antonio College Nursing Department has memorandums of agreements with multiple acute care healthcare systems, long-term care facilities, and nursing homes throughout the community.

Simulation Lab

Simulation is an exciting new technology that allows nursing students the opportunity to practice patient care in a safe, non-threatening, and controlled environment. San Antonio College’s (SAC) nursing simulation center strives to incorporate innovative learning strategies, to enhance development of communication, collaboration, teamwork, and critical thinking skills, and to ultimately, encourage safe and competent patient care for students in the nursing program.

The SAC simulation lab is designed to function as a temporary hospital facility in the event of a disaster. The lab’s layout includes sixteen triage or primary care beds, twelve intermediate care beds, four intensive care beds, two pediatric units and two obstetrical units. Each patient room is a stand-alone training facility not divided by one-way mirrors as utilized in other facilities. SAC’s hospital design provides an element of realism not attainable in the majority of healthcare provider simulation centers.

The center also contains two large primary care triage wards or “bays”. In these areas, nursing faculty, with the assistance of technical nurse trainers, lead interactive exercises that encourage nursing skill development. Major labs include IV insertion, tracheostomy and ventilator care, medication administration, wound care, and foundational nursing care. 

Simulation Equipment

The SAC Department of Nursing Education Simulation Lab primarily utilizes the SimMan mannequins. The SimMan affords students a realistic exercise for high fidelity simulations proportionate to the student’s skill level. Each “patient room” is set up as an actual hospital room with the SimMan as the patient.

Each patient room has installed two high resolution cameras and a microphone. The technical nurse trainer or simulation facilitator is located in a control room situated in one of four locations throughout the center and directly listens and observes the student’s practice and skills via camera and headset.

Nursing Department Administration

Dr. Tonya Maunsell DNP, R.N.
Executive Director Of the Associate of Applied Science Nursing Program (AAS)
(210) 486-1144

tdaves@alamo.edu

Dr. Eve Rodriguez, PhD., RN
Executive Director of Registered Nurse to Baccalaureate Program (BSN)
(210) 486-1217
erodriguez43@alamo.edu

Rocio Antillon, M.Ed.
Academic Program Director
(210) 486-1144
rantillon@alamo.edu

Nursing Department Staff

Elida Connell
Coordinator of Records & Reports
(210) 486-1857
eramirez1@alamo.edu

Richard Diaz
Administrative Svcs Spec - BSN Admissions
(210) 486-1182
rdiaz53@alamo.edu

Emily Hernandez
Admin Svcs Spec - Nursing ADN Admisssions
(210) 486-1170
ehernandez780@alamo.edu

Francisco Hernandez
Coordinator of Student Success - BSN
(210) 486-1099
fhernandez53@alamo.edu

Sarah Martinez
Corporate Liaison
(210) 486-0034
smartinez67@alamo.edu

Lorena Serrano
Academic Lab Technician
(210) 486-1185
lserrano19@alamo.edu

Daniel Sustaita
Coordinator of Student Success - ADN
(210) 486-0233
dsustaita@alamo.edu

Michael Todman
Academic Unit Assistant
(210) 486-1144
mtodman4@alamo.edu

 

Nursing Faculty

DEPARTMENT OF NURSING EDUCATION DIRECTORY

FACULTY

NAME EMAIL PHONE
Abreu, Sarah sabreu@alamo.edu  210-486-1181
Alvarez, Gina grosa2@alamo.edu 210-486-1176
Baxter, Yvette yperez26@alamo.edu 210-486-1186
Boundaone, Emily eboundaone@alamo.edu 210-486-1180
Dooley, Suzette sdooley14@alamo.edu 210-486-1199
Dunlap, Dr. Cleveland cdunlap@alamo.edu 210-486-1570 
Felter, JoAnn jfelter@alamo.edu 210-486-1855
Flores, Dr. Daniel dflores70@alamo.edu 210-486-1197
Garza, Dr. Elizabeth egarza646@alamo.edu 210-486-1167
Guinn, Lindsay lguinn1@alamo.edu 210-486-1172
Hack, Gary ghack@alamo.edu 210-486-1148
Horton, Dr. Mary  (BSN) mhorton4@alamo.edu 210-486-1851
John, Gloria gjohn@alamo.edu 210-486-1175
Lieck, Dr. Margie mlieck@alamo.edu 210-486-1188
Miranda, Dr. Edward emiranda16@alamo.edu 210-486-1177
Morin, Dion dmorin20@alamo.edu 210-486-1152
Pace, Samantha space7@alamo.edu 210-486-1187
Perez, Ernest eperez37@alamo.edu 210-486-1173
Rios, Irene irios17@alamo.edu 210-486-1564
Sackett, Robert rsackett3@alamo.edu 210-486-1155
Salazar, Erica ecamarillo13@alamo.edu 210-486-1169
Vandenberg, Sara svandenberg1@alamo.edu 210-486-1183
Ydirin, Christian cydirin@alamo.edu 210-486-1189
Zaiontz, Dr. Russell (BSN) rzaiontz@alamo.edu 210-486-1174

ADJUNCTS

Cantrell, Venetia vcantrell@alamo.edu  
Carrola, Dr. Adrian (BSN) acarrola@alamo.edu  
Deahl, Glenda gdeahl@alamo.edu  
Dumnoi, Nosakhare ndumnoi@alamo.edu  
Felter, Stephen sfelter@alamo.edu  
Garcia, Margaret mgarcia1454@alamo.edu  
Mann, Pamela pmann8@alamo.edu  
Peche, Elizabeth epeche5@alamo.edu  
Plemper, Rebecca rplemper@alamo.edu  
Presper, Kathy kpresper@alamo.edu  
Sall, Dr. James jsall@alamo.edu  
Smith, Olivia osmith19@alamo.edu  
Tabet, Dr. Anna  (BSN) atabet1@alamo.edu  
Terry, Larry lterry@alamo.edu  
Womble, Dr. Crissy (BSN) cwomble3@alamo.edu  

Nursing Program Accreditation

AAS Nursing Program

The Generic Associate of Applied Science and the Career Mobility nursing program at Alamo Community Colleges District at San Antonio College located in San Antonio, Texas is accredited by the: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).

The most recent accreditation decision made by the ACEN Board of Commissioners for the San Antonio College nursing program is Continuing Accreditation. ACEN is located at 3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400, Atlanta, GA 30326 and can be reached at (404) 975-5000.

Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science Program

The RN-BSN baccalaureate nursing program at San Antonio College located in San Antonio, Texas is accredited by the:
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400 Atlanta, GA 30326
(404) 975-5000

The most recent accreditation decision made by the ACEN Board of Commissioners for the RN-BSN baccalaureate nursing program is initial accreditation.