Government

Program Level: Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Humanities
Institute: Public Service
College: NVC

Government Courses Links of Interest Faculty & Staff Apply Now

 

About the Program

The Government Program consists of a broad area of studies on the organization and function of political institutions at the local, state, and federal levels. However, the very nature of political institutions and processes are far more complex and far-reaching than suggested by the course descriptions because they also provide insight of ourselves and our society. As a result, we seek to provide a quality academic experience based on both scientific findings and practical solutions so that students are better prepared to transition away from the community college to either university or the workforce, while obtaining knowledge and skills necessary to effectively participate, utilize and effect change in government as citizens in the community at large.

What will I learn?

Focusing on studies in government provide a multitude of benefits including skills most desired by a variety of employers in the public, private, and non-profit sectors, skills required in many academic settings, and civic obligations of all citizens living in democratic republics. Such skills include but are not limited to: critical thinking, oral and written communication, investigative research, problem-solving, conversational skills, and knowledge of the organizational and procedural functions of government.

Why Study Political Science?

What can I do with this course of study?

Academically, an Associate of Arts degree with Government as a pre-major provides you with the skills necessary to continue your education and transfer credits to a university. Career-wise, this field of study provides students with endless possibilities... Students opting to pre-major in Government can find employment opportunities in the following areas:

  • Federal Government
  • State and Local Government
  • International Affairs
  • Non-profit Organizations
  • Law/Legal System
  • Lobbying and Interest Advocacy
  • Print and Electronic Media
  • Campaigns and Polling
  • For-Profit Organizations
  • Public Service and Elective Office
  • Teaching Graduate and Legal Studies

Why Study Political Science

Exploring a Career in Political Science

What is special about this program?

Perhaps the greatest benefit the Government Program provides to all students is the ability to understand the importance of civic engagement, as well as the knowledge to be an agent of political and social change. As such, government courses are centered on student learning and community building with a variety of pedagogies, including collaborative and context-based learning along with several opportunities to participate in co-curricular activities. The end result of these experiences goes beyond a degree and employment opportunity as courses foster life-long skills of civic engagement and social responsibility.

College Learning & Democracy’s Future

 

Available Courses:

Course Descriptions

 

GOVT 2305/Federal Government

 

 

GOVT 2306/Texas Government

 

 

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Robert Marbut
rmarbut@alamo.edu 

Jala Nejad
jnejad@alamo.edu 

Homer Guevara
hguevara@alamo.edu 

Pamela Dunagan
pdunagan@alamo.edu 

Joan Mendoza
jmendoza375@alamo.edu 

Deb Cardona
dcardona10@alamo.edu 

Jessika Stokley
jstokley1@alamo.edu 

Chad Mueller
cmueller27@alamo.edu 

Robert Williamson
rwilliamson27@alamo.edu 

Staff

Debbie Perales
dperales11@alamo.edu 


Contact Us

Debbie Perales
Administrative Specialist

Location:
LOH-206

Phone:
210-486-4856

Deb Cardona
Program Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Government 

Location:
LOH-206

Phone:
210-486-4102

Kimberly McClurg
Department Chair of Humanities and Government 

Location:
LOH-206A

Phone:
210-486-4418