Economics

Program Level: Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Social Sciences
Institute: Business & Entrepreneurship
College: NVC

EconomicsCoursesLinks of InterestFaculty & StaffLabsApply Now

 

About This Program

Economics has been described as the "dismal science," yet economics offers a way of thinking that helps find solutions to the world's major problems. In economics courses you will begin to understand the methodology of problem-solving, as well as graphing and mathematics skills. These marketable skills will be beneficial throughout your life.

What will I learn?

In these courses you will learn about National Income Accounting, Inflation, Unemployment, Market Structures, Profit Maximization to name a few topics. These courses will prepare you for more advanced subjects, such as Accounting, Intermediate and Advanced Economics courses, Finance and Statistics.

What can I do with this course of study? 

Economics offers a diverse variety of employment opportunities. Careers available include Financial Advisor, Actuary, Financial Analyst, Statistician, and Securities Trader to name a few.

What is special about this program? 

At NVC we take you out of the classroom to demonstrate real-world applications via touring multiple manufacturing facilities. Also, we offer diverse opportunities to network with local professionals via our speaker series and employment fairs.

Degrees and Certificates 

 

 

Available Courses:

Course Descriptions

ECON 1301 - Introduction to Economics

ECON 2301 - Principles of Macroeconomics

ECON 2302 - Principles of Microeconomics

 

Labs 

Lab Name

Economics Lab 

Lab Location

PH 205

Lab Contact

John Overmeyer
jovermeyer@alamo.edu

Phone
N/A

 

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Kimberly Beza
kbeza@alamo.edu

Rolando Sanchez
rsanchez376@alamo.edu

Cristina Pandaru
cpandaru@alamo.edu

Mike Munoz
mmunoz1@alamo.edu

Staff

Nakotah Terburg
nterburg@alamo.edu


Contact Us

Nakotah Terburg
Admin. Svcs. Spec.

Location:
LOH-206

Phone:
210-486-4216

Trina Cowan
Academic Chair

Location:
LOH-206B

Phone:
210-486-4047

Kimberly Beza
Discipline Coordinator

Location:
PH-215

Phone:
210-486-4469

Mike Munoz
Discipline Coordinator

Location:
PH-215

Phone:
210-486-4105