Speech and Communication Studies

Program Level: Degrees, Pre-Majors/Transfer
Department: Social Sciences
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: NVC

Speech Communication Courses Links of Interest Faculty & Staff Labs Apply Now

 

About the Program

The Speech Communication Program combines applied, practical knowledge with the art and theory of communication. The need to communicate effectively is important in every personal and professional relationship. Speech is also a core requirement for almost every degree program.

What will I learn?

Our Speech Communication students learn how to communicate effectively face to face and through the use of technology. Communication skills are vital to professional and personal success. Course topics include leadership skills, public speaking, group communication, interviewing, business writing, interpersonal relations, conflict resolution, intercultural communication, nonverbal communication, and social media.

What can I do with this course of study?

Communication skills are the number one skill employers report is necessary to succeed in the workplace. A major in Speech Communication allows for flexibility in looking for employment. A person with this focus has limitless career possibilities. Communication skills are valued in human resources, advertising, marketing, consulting, law, teaching, higher education administration, speech-writing, business administration, public relations, technical communication, broadcast journalism, social media management.

What is special about this program?

Students in the Speech Communication program engage in real-world application through participation in service learning, group projects, interviewing, networking with professionals in a variety of industries, public speaking competitions, and field trips. The Speech Communication department also has a Speech Lab available for students across the campus to prepare and practice a variety of presentations.

Degrees and Certificates

Associate of Arts

Speech Comm FOS

Transfer Advising Guides

Communication - University of Texas San Antonio

Communication and Learning Disorders- OLLU

Communication - Texas A & M San Antonio

 

 

 

Available Courses:

Course Descriptions

SPCH 1311 Introduction to Speech Communication

SPCH 1315 Public Speaking

PCH 1318 Interpersonal Communication

SPCH 1321 Business and Professional Communication

SPCH 2333 Discussion and Small Group Communication

SPCH 2335 Argumentation and Debate

SPCH 1342 Voice and Diction

 

Labs 

Lab Name

Speech Lab

Lab Location

Live Oak Hall 116

Lab Contact

Elaine Jansky
ejansky1@alamo.edu

Phone

 486-4696



Lab Name

Speech Lab

Lab Location

Live Oak Hall 116

Lab Contact

Steven Montemayor
smontemayor21@alamo.edu

Phone

 486-4696

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Trina Cowan
tdiehl@alamo.edu

Karin Wilking,
kwilkins1@alamo.edu

Amy Burton
aburton@alamo.edu

Edgar Garza
egarza@alamo.edu

Elaine Jansky
ejansky1@alamo.edu

Tim Molina
tmolina10@alamo.edu

Steven Montemayor
smontemayor21@alamo.edu

Lydia Yznaga
lyznaga@alamo.edu

Ruben Aguillon
raguillon12@alamo.edu/a>

Danielle Boatman
dboatman1@alamo.edu

Ontre Boatman
oboatman@alamo.edu

Courtney Bobb-Meilinger
cbobb-meilinger@alamo.edu

Kahala Crayton
kcrayton1@alamo.edu

Julie Estes
jestes8@alamo.edu

Shelly Herthneck
sherthneck@alamo.edu

Darcy Keene
dhogan4@alamo.edu

Lisa McDaniel
lmcdaniel5@alamo.edu

Lauren Miller
lmiller151@alamo.edu

Melinda Pereda
mpereda7@alamo.edu

Lesleigh Ring
lconway6@alamo.edu

 

Staff

Nakotah Terburg
nterburg@alamo.edu


Contact Us

Nakotah Terburg
Admin. Svcs. Spec.

Location:
LOH-206

Phone:
210-486-4216

Trina Cowan
Academic Chair

Location:
LOH-206B

Phone:
210-486-4047

Dr. Karin Wilking
Discipline Coordinator

Location:
LOH-206M

Phone:
210-486-4638