Computer Programming

Program Type: Face-to-Face, Fully Online
Program Level: Degrees, Online, Certificates
Department: Science and Technology
Institute: Science & Technology
College: SAC

What is the Computer Programming program?

This degree plan helps prepare the student for an entry-level position in programming computers. Entry-level computer programmers can update, repair, modify, and expand existing programs, and progress to performing analysis, design, and development of new programs.  The programmer converts a computer-solution design - or design change into a logical series of instructions that the computer can follow.  The programmer codes these instructions in any of a number of programming languages (such as C++ and Python), depending on the need. 

What will I learn?

This degree plan includes the study of software program design and structured programming techniques since programmers have begun to assume some of the responsibilities that were once performed only by software engineers:  some computer programmers now assist software engineers in identifying user needs and designing certain parts of computer programs, as well as other functions.

What can I do with this course of study?

  • Computer programmer 
  • Software engineer 
  • Systems analyst 
  • Application developer 
  • PC specialist 
  • Microcomputer application specialist

 

Last updated 5/19/2021

 What's special about this program?

This field continues to evolve quickly, reflecting changes in technology and new areas of specialization, as well as the changing practices of employers.

Contact Us

   
 Troy Touchette,
 Chair 
ttouchette@alamo.edu
Location:
Nail Technical Center (NTC-229) 
Phone:
210-486-1050

Laura A. Garcia,

Administrative Services Specialist

lgarcia2@alamo.edu


 

Phone: (210) 486-1051

David Acosta
Faculty
Dacosta4@alamo.edu
Rafael Azuaje
Faculty
razuaje@alamo.edu
Andrea Cardena
Faculty
acardena1@alamo.edu
Tarill Freese
Faculty
Tfreese@alamo.edu
David Holland
Faculty
Dholland25@alamo.edu
Sharon Jiang
Faculty
Sjiang@alamo.edu
Dee Joseph
Faculty
Djoseph@alamo.edu
Steve Kolars
Faculty
Skolars@alamo.edu
Mike Matuszek
Faculty
Mmatuszek@alamo.edu
Kim Mushalek
Faculty
Kmuschalek@alamo.edu
Pete Ortega
Faculty
Portega@alamo.edu
Troy Touchette
Faculty
Ttouchette@alamo.edu
For Additional Assistance: Call the call center (210-212-5266),  access the LiveChat (In the bottom right-hand side on any SAC webpage), or visit this zoom room (https://alamo.zoom.us/j/96204747346).