Humanities

Program Level: Degrees
Department: Humanities
Institute: Creative & Communication Arts
College: NVC

Humanities Courses Links of Interest Faculty & Staff Apply Now

 

About the Program

The term "humanities" can be confusing to students and many students wonder what the content of their coursework will include. The humanities are not limited to a particular field but are defined by areas of study that ask the fundamental questions about the human experience and human society. Our humanities classes emphasize an interpretive approach (analytical, critical and/or reflective) to understand the human condition and human culture.

What will I learn?

Studying the humanities enhances the ability to understand your self and society through the study of the languages, philosophies, fine arts, and literature of both Western and non-Western peoples. Many graduates of the program pursue graduate studies in areas of the humanities or in business, law, or the arts. Humanities courses encourage students to think in new and imaginative ways and to evaluate ideas and problems from a broad and critical perspective.

What can I do with this course of study?

Humanities majors also pursue a wide range of career paths including (but not limited to): Community/Organizational Worker, College Faculty, Critic, Journalist, Lawyer, Physician, Public Administrator, Teacher, Writer, Clergy Member, Small Business Owner, Grant Writer, Peace Corps/VISTA worker, Victim Advocate. 

What is special about this program?

Our discipline acts as a nexus with other programs of study including Mexican- American Studies and Peace & Conflict Studies. See our Links of Interest below for more information!

 

Available Courses:

Course Descriptions

HUMA 1301- Introduction to Humanities I

HUMA 1302 -Introduction to Humanities II

HUMA 1305 - Introduction to Mexican-American Studies

HUMA 1311 - Mexica- American Fine Art Appreciation

HUMA 1315 - Fine Arts Appreciation

HUMA 2319- American Minority Studies

HUMA 2323 - World Cultures

 

Faculty and Staff 

Faculty

Craig Coroneos
ccoroneos@alamo.edu

Neil Lewis
nlewis7@alamo.edu

Migdalia Garcia (Adjunct Faculty and Community Engagement Coordinator)
mgarcia1295@alamo.edu

Dawn Elmore (Adjunct Faculty)
delmore6@alamo.edu

Tom Gyori (Adjunct Faculty)
tgyori@alamo.edu

Cleo Kukeya (Adjunct Faculty)
ckukeya@alamo.edu

Stefanaia Wasniewski (Adjunct Faculty)
swasniewski@alamo.edu

Dain Zachary (Adjunct Facutly)
dwood34@alamo.edu

Staff

Debbie Perales
dperales11@alamo.edu 

Kim McClurg, Chair of Humanities and Government
kmcclurg@alamo.edu


Contact Us

Debbie Perales
Administrative Services Specialist

Location:
LOH-206

Phone:
210-486-48256

Neil Lewis 
Coordinator

Location:
LOH-206

Phone:
210-486-4826

Kimberly McClurg
Chair of Humanities and Government

Location:
LOH-206A

Phone:
210-486-4418