History

The Alamo Colleges District has a rich history of achievement and growth. 

The district is comprised of five colleges: San Antonio (est. 1925), St. Philip's (est. 1898), Palo Alto (est. 1983), Northeast Lakeview (est. 2007), and Northwest Vista (est. 1995).

Timeline

1898

St. Philip's College founded as a sewing school

1917

St. Philip's moves to its present location at 1800 Martin Luther King Drive

1925

SAC founded as University Junior College

1926

University Junior College renamed San Antonio Junior College

1942

St. Philip's affiliated with San Antonio Junior College

1945

St. Philip's College and San Antonio Junior College from San Antonio Union Junior College District

1948

San Antonio Junior College renamed San Antonio College

1951

SAC moves to its present location at 1819 N. Main Ave.

1982

District renamed Alamo Community College District

1983

Palo Alto College established

1985

PAC holds first classes

1987

SPC opens Southwest Campus at 800 Quintana Rd.

1995

Development of Northwest Vista College begins

1997

NVC opens first building on campus

1999

First four buildings at NVC completed

2000

ACCD Board approves purchase of property for temporary northeast center

2001

Northeast Campus center begins offering classes at 7980-7990 Pat Booker Rd.

2005

$450 million bond issue approved which includes funding for construction of Northeast Lakeview College

2006

Westside Education and Training Center opens

2008

Northeast Lakeview College opens

2008

Greater Kerrville Center begins offering classes

2012

Workforce Center of Excellence opens at 203 Norton St.

2013

Central Texas Technology Center between New Braunfels and Seguin opens

2016

Eastside Education and Training Center opens

2017

$450 million bond issue approved for new construction and renovations at the colleges